1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 80MB downloaded overnight. . . where is it!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by brad-short, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. brad-short

    brad-short Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    Hi guys, phone downloaded 80mb of data over night over 3g (according to 3g watchdog) all of its own accord and the Network History (*#*#4636#*#*) is not any help as the phone was plugged in!

    I really wish there was a better way to see which apps are using data, how much and when!

    I ph33r it may be an evil plot by Vodafone to force downloads onto my phone to go over the FUP.

    Anyone have any suggestions?
    __________________
    ______
    Brad-Short
     

    Advertisement

  2. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    Have you tried the Download folder on the sd card?
     
  3. brad-short

    brad-short Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    Yeh I checked that.
    .
    In fact I checked the file info for all files on the card... Wonder if the 3g app is misreporting
     
  4. dragon2611

    dragon2611 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    18
    0
    15

    When you say plugged in do you mean to the charger or to a computer.

    Is there any possibility your computer used it as a modem (not even sure if the desire supports that?)
     
  5. brad-short

    brad-short Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010


    Cheers but no, it was on an Mains charger . . . . . have looked again and am still none the wiser . . .
     
  6. dragon2611

    dragon2611 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    18
    0
    15
    Werid, not sure then.

    I wonder if someone knew the IP currently assigned to the device if they could send it traffic, presumably they'd also need to be on the same provider since most of them mass NAT their mobile subscribers.

    After all the device will establish a TCP/IP connection for data services presumably and like with most things although the phone would most likely drop any unexpected incoming packets, they would have still got there to be dropped (thus using data)

    It's a theory, and sadly I don't know enough about mobile data networks to know if it's indeed accurate it for all i kjnow any unsolicited connection attempt might get dropped at the GSN (or even before that) and never reach the device
     
  7. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    Maybe a streaming app like Pandora was streaming in the background?
     
  8. Solidis

    Solidis Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    87
    0
    35
    Time Warner Cable
    Torrance Ca
    hmm. shut off the phone and ..see if it happens again.. but again if u have unlimited data.. dont even worry .
     
  9. brad-short

    brad-short Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    cheers guys, not on an unlimited data plan, hence the worry and i dont have a streaming app. Doggcatcher is the only possibility but it is set to download over wifi only . .
     
  10. Stucky

    Stucky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    104
    9
    36
    Maybe it was an update that's downloaded and installed itself if you have automatic updates on?
     
  11. Chilly McFreeze

    Chilly McFreeze Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    166
    35
    63
    Oracle Developer
    Download TrafficStats from the market, it will tell you how much data all your apps are using.
     
    brad-short likes this.
  12. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,186
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,186
    1,347
    323
    Black Forest
    ... or TrafficInfo.
    But for both apps you need Android 2.2 on your phone.

    Harry
     
    brad-short likes this.
  13. brad-short

    brad-short Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    Looked at both of these apps, great stuff, except they do not split 3g and wifi data . . .grrr...

    Still nice apps

    EDIT: Trafficstats seems a little better as it has a reset option. So when i switch wifi off at night i can reset the counters. Thanks guys.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...