1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

8gb card only formating to 3.7gb

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by davey_b, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. davey_b

    davey_b Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    43
    0
    15
    I've got an 8gb card that I copied files onto but they seem to have become corrupt so I formatted the card but its only giving me 3.7gb
     

    Advertisement

  2. chaz_uk

    chaz_uk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009

    It sounds to me like you may have a fake Micro SD card. 3.7GB is what would be available after formatting a 4GB card.

    Was the data corrupt at the beginning or did it corrupt as you filled it up more? Where did you buy the card out of interest?

    Here is a guide on how to test a fake card: http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1023&message=19506964
     
  3. davey_b

    davey_b Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    43
    0
    15
    Think you might be right, its branded as Kingston and I got it from ebuyer.com.

    I'll give them a call.

    Thanks
     
  4. Drazil

    Drazil Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    131
    8
    36
    Are you using the phone or your computer to format? If you're not formatting using the phone, make sure you're not using FAT16 filesystem.
     
  5. davey_b

    davey_b Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    43
    0
    15
  6. davey_b

    davey_b Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    43
    0
    15
    That might be an issue. I formatted it on my computer and the only option I had was FAT32. Is there another way I can do it?
     
  7. Drazil

    Drazil Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    131
    8
    36
    If you tried on your computer using FAT32 it should have gone the full 8GB. Have you tried putting it in your phone then going to Settings > SD Card > Format SD Card (you might have to unmount it first if the format option is greyed out).

    If that still doesn't work, then Chaz is probably right and you got a fake 8GB and they put some utility on the card to make your computer think it was 8GB, which might explain the corrupt data and why it formats to only 3.7GB.
     
  8. davey_b

    davey_b Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    43
    0
    15
    Yeah, done all that. Formated it on the phone as well and got 3.7gb. Called ebuyer and I'm going to send it back to them.

    Thanks guys.

    Dave
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...