1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support A few Q's, Mainly how to get 3g working

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Doyena, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. Doyena

    Doyena Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    6
    0
    25
    Wealth Management
    Hi Everyone... So I started on this wild ride by trying to get 3g instead of 1x. I got lgpnst lab switched to prl 3025 (took me 4 nights with all the fun of the skin.dll ..registering the dll etc but i digress) and using lte onoff put the phone in cdma auto prl... nothing! so i was playing aruund today and using lte onoff switched to evdo only and woohoo had 3g.. but as you all most likely know no phone calls could be made etc. I've tried the other settings and those that allow phone calls leave me with 1x for data.. Any solutions?

    On another note I rooted my phone this am (now that was easy! :D) so maybe with that being done there can be another workaround to the 3g? i am clueless as far as the rooting goes so please be kind to my ultra noobness.. hehe

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US
    well, right now there is no legitimate app or way to force the phone to do 3g with service working. So for now we have lte onoff. And cmd/evdo/ auto does give you 3g
     
  3. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Maybe this will work better then lte onoff

    Dail * # * # 4 6 3 6 # * # * and hit the call button. Then when it takes you to the menu press Phone Information and scroll down and youll see a drop down window that says CDMA/LTE/EvDo auto press it then scroll the list and select EvDo Only.

    Depending on where you are and the signal around you this can have ill effects on your data. IE your data not working. If it does that just dail that number again and change it back to CDMA/LTE/EvDo or even CDMA/EvDo
     
  4. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US
    Remember!. Doing this could affect your 4g. It may give you the same issues people are having thus leaving the choice for u to force the 4g back again.
     
  5. Doyena

    Doyena Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    6
    0
    25
    Wealth Management
    Thank you everyone! well my phone was stolen from me this past weekend, thankfully I got the insurance! I updated to prl 3026 and before even getting lte on/off I am switching between 3g and 1x (haven't seen 4g ever not even with the first one) Thanks everyone for all your help!
     
  6. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US

    Are you currently on metropcs 4g coverage?
     
  7. Doyena

    Doyena Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    6
    0
    25
    Wealth Management
    Supposedly there is some spotty 4g in CT but in march it will be all over... I'm ok to wait :)
     
  8. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US

    Hopefully you get 4g by then.
     
  9. bigreyski

    bigreyski Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    1
    0
    5

    iAM IN ct. WITH LGESTEEM.. SO HOW CAN I FIX MINE 3G ISSUE. IAM IN bRIStOL ct
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...