1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root a few questions about backing up and custom roms

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by stevis, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. stevis

    stevis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    13
    1
    36
    i installed CWM, made a nandroid backup, and downloaded CM7 reloaded.

    am i right in assuming my next steps after factory reset are flashing the rom, then restoring the nandroid backup?

    also, how do i go about flashing the google apps that are separate from the rom itself?

    thanks for any help
     

    Advertisement

  2. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    No you don't want to restore the nandroid backup... You want to do what you did then flash the rom then flash gapps which is just a .zip file that you can flash the same way as a rom in CWM. And if you don't already have Gapps here it is. Also you want to make sure you flash it right after you flash the rom.
     
    stevis likes this.
  3. stevis

    stevis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    13
    1
    36
    thanks man, but if i wanted to restore all my settings, apps, etc, wouldn't i need to restore it? or am i not understanding something
     
  4. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    The nandroid will restore the old ROM and all the settings that you had (It will basically put your phone in the exact same state as it was when you did the backup).

    When you flash a new ROM you have to redo your settings. :(
     
  5. stevis

    stevis Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    13
    1
    36
    well, shoot.

    it's a good thing i have titanium backup and sms backup then!

    edit: if i am getting a replacement phone soon i guess i shouldnt even bother lol i totally overlooked that. should i do a factory reset before shipping off my old handset or just unroot?
     
  6. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Yes, that should get you close. I would recommend not restoring the data in the apps from TB (except maybe game data for saves) as sometimes that can cause an issue.
     
    ruamilf likes this.
  7. shmackshmack

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    432
    111
    68
    Los Angeles
    a nandroid backup is an exact copy of the disk image on the phone, its like cloning a DVD.

    when you restore it, you restore anything and everything that was on the disk when it got cloned, the OS, the apps, the settings, your logins. its an exact copy of the phones memory as it was when you made the backup.

    TB is better for individual apps but its not wise to use it to restore apps between froyo and gingerbread roms. especially system apps and some app data.


    if youve already flashed the CM7 rom, you will be familiar with the menus and how to wipe and select a zip from the SD card, so with this in mind, heres how you flash gapps.

    after the cm7 rom is done flashing, do NOT reboot the phone, just go back through the menus, select install zip from SD, find the gapps file, and flash it.

    NOW you can reboot.

    if you reboot and try to flash it later, you will get a bunch of force closes and the sign in process wont work and you have to start from scratch, not much can fix it at that point.
     
    bradhoschar likes this.
  8. bludd

    bludd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    75
    7
    16
    Just wondering, is there a stock nandroid backup somewhere on the micro sd card or do I need to do a factory reset to get a clean backup?

    I ask because I'd like to have a backup of a stock setup as well as my current setup. Also what would happen if I did a restore of my current nandroid backup and then did a factory reset, would that bring everything back to how I first bought it?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  9. shmackshmack

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    432
    111
    68
    Los Angeles

    DO NOT do a factory reset. the phone looks for a stock recovery to complete the process and wont finish with the cwm recovery.

    as for "is there a stock nandroid backup somewhere on the micro sd card?" to answer that, I would say that unless you specifically MADE one, then no there isnt. it doesnt just "appear"

    heres what I did

    Remove phone from box, brand new, untouched, boot into download mode to PC, and replace stock recovery with CWM, then nandroid stock rom AS IS, so I really can restore to a true untouched state.

    obviously its too late to do that for you, but in your situation I would do this.

    Restore any stock nandroid you have made, even if its a nandroid of the phone while signed into google account and stuff.

    once thats done, boot into download mode and put the stock recovery BACK on the phone.

    now the phone should be 100% stock, and you are safe to perform a factory reset from inside androids menus.

    once the reset is done, boot to download mode, put CWM back on, boot into recovery, and nandroid the stock rom in its freshly reset state.

    on a side note, dont try to use other peoples nandroid backups if they get posted online. nandroids are phone specific and will overwrite important data like the mied and carrier data. you dont want that. you have to make any nandroid backup yourself from a rom you install yourself on your own phone.
     
  10. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    I agree with most of what you said, but I don't believe a NANDroid backup copies the MEID. It might copy the carrier stuff, but it is not an exact clone of your phone. There are issues on some phones (some of the 4G LTE ones I believe, just don't hold me to that), but I have not seen any with the Triumph when restoring someone else's NANDroid.

    I have restored a NANDroid posted here and did not have an issue. If you want a stock backup (and didn't make one yourself) there is one posted here:
    http://androidforums.com/triumph-al...de-100-stock-motorola-triumph-newb-proof.html
     
  11. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    I agree. A nandroid backup just backs up the boot image, apps, app data, other user data, but it does not back up any of the stuff that has to do with the phone (meid, serial, phone number, prl) they should stay the same between backups. The only real way too change any of that is through #program## on stock or qpst.
     
    agentc13 likes this.
  12. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Here is some advice about Nandroids from one of those smartypants moderators. :p

    Hope that helps.
     
  13. shmackshmack

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    432
    111
    68
    Los Angeles

    there was a situation in which i uploaded a freshly flashed cm7 rom from my OV online for people. (not signed in, fully wiped, yadda yadda yadda) a few downloaded it and said they werent receiving texts and they kept getting google voice notifications at the same times I was getting GV calls.

    thats what made me never want to use or upload a personal nandroid ever again.
     
    ruamilf likes this.
  14. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Yeah, I wouldn't post mine especially if there was GV stuff on it. I am not sure how GV interacts with all this, I don't use it:thinking:. And I know on some other phones you don't want to be flashing someone else's nandroid (wimax keys are stored in the nandroid! :eek:). But especially with this phone since you could put CWM on without even booting into the OS and have a COMPLETELY stock nandroid it isn't as bad. I wasn't saying you were completely wrong or anything, I agreed with 90% of your post :D. But I am pretty sure the MEID is not stored in the nandroid and was just trying to make things clear. :cool:
     
  15. shmackshmack

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    432
    111
    68
    Los Angeles

    fair enough. it most likely isnt, but better safe than sorry. just sharing my experience in the hope it doesnt happen to anyone else. that was a big mess to clean up
     
    agentc13 likes this.
  16. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Sure, it is always good to see the different opinions. I probably wouldn't post a nandroid from my phone, but I am a bit paranoid sometimes! :eek:
    Talking about a mess...no you don't want to hear that story. :D
     
  17. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    The only way I would post a nandroid is if it was either stock and right out of the box when I made it or I did a complete wipe and made sure there were NO passwords stored anywhere on the flash memory, then maybe I would so I can see where its better safe than sorry is coming from... Especially if you sync with your google account and make a nandroid...

    P.S. what mess? o_O
     
  18. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Trust me you don't want to know.

    :eek:
    Maybe It had to do with breaking something by using too many hide tags?
    :D
    Or maybe it was something else completely.....
    :p
    OK, I am done.
     
  19. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    wow
    think
    you
    put
    enough
    hide
    tags?
    o_O
    O wait...
    now
    I'm
    doing
    it
    too...
    :D
     
  20. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Mission accomplished!
    Welcome to the hide tag jedi training young padawan
    I think we just derailed this thread
    :eek:
    SORRY!
     
  21. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Awesome!
    Finally I've Been waiting for this my whole life! :D
    Oh and yea... sorry for taking this thing off topic...
    Hmm seems like it was only the other day we took another thread off topic too :D
     
  22. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    I think I do that wayyy to often.
    :(
    But at least I am usually helpful too!
    :)
    Does that make it ok?
    :thinking:
     
  23. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Me too :/
    But I am helpful too! :D
    so yes I think that makes it totally ok! :D
    :cool:
     
  24. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    No it doesn't, because when I toke your advise, it killed my unborn child! :mad:
     
  25. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Please don't joke about that.
    I'm serious here. My wife and I just lost our unborn baby girl on Dec. 30 at 38 1/2 weeks
    Also don't feel bad, you didn't know, just an fyi for the future
    Sorry for being a downer.
    I know you didn't mean it
     

Share This Page

Loading...