1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support A few questions about x10

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GoodSmile, Apr 20, 2011.

  1. GoodSmile

    GoodSmile Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16
    2
    16
    Hello forum, i got my x10 from rogers, im wondering does rogers locked certain phone features or just the network? if yes which features are being locked out? and can i flash the phone to unlock the features?

    and also what does rooting the phone do?

    thank u
     

    Advertisement

  2. arkangeluk

    arkangeluk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #264
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    386
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    386
    23
    48
    Male
    somewhere between here and there
    sorry can't help you with the rogers bit, I'm tmobile in Scotland but if you root your phone you can do allsorts of things(clear out any carrier specific crap, i got rid of face recognition and timescape, install custom roms, I'm on my third just nowand you can install root only apps as well, think titanium back up is one of them)

    ric
     
  3. beau420

    beau420 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,104
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    1,104
    173
    143
    Computer Guy
    Ottawa
    You could root your Rogers phone and do the same.

    Rooting allows you to do things like install custom ROMS (streamlined versions of Android that are much faster than the Sony version)

    Super easy to do, hard to mess up....phone is so much faster and smoother than before.
     
    GoodSmile likes this.
  4. GoodSmile

    GoodSmile Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16
    2
    16

    ah thanks so much guys, so i would follow this guide here?
    >>>> http://androidforums.com/x10-all-things-root/272949-flashtool-guide-how-n00bies.html

    and flash the "ADDED: X10a _2_1_A_0_435 with DualTouch already in for ALL apps HERE ;)" this firmware?
     
  5. powerkiter

    powerkiter Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    859
    106
    93
    UK
    Yep thats the guide :)

    And after you have got used to the process look at Xrecovery and after you get used to that I can swap from a 2.1 rom to a 2.2 rom in 5 mins with 2.2 you can use Flash player to open up even more of your phone.

    And being on a generic firmware you will get 2.3 on your phone this summer :)
     
    GoodSmile likes this.
  6. GoodSmile

    GoodSmile Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16
    2
    16
    hehe thanks so much =)
     
  7. GoodSmile

    GoodSmile Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16
    2
    16
    ohh just 1 more xD
    if i flash the generic firmware, will it unlock the phone also?
    and i can still flash the 2.1 firmware while my phone is already 2.1 right?
     
  8. powerkiter

    powerkiter Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    859
    106
    93
    UK
    No it wont unlock your phone from a carrier.

    Yes you can flash 2.1 to a 2.1 phone it will just go from carrier branded to generic.

    But do add a custom 2.1 rom like blue sparks to see a nice change or just go for the jump to 2.2. But as the boot loader is not cracked 2.2 is basicly 2.1 tweaked with 2.2 parts.

    Before anyone jumps in saying that the boot loader has been cracked it's not they found a way to bypass it but not crack it...
     
    GoodSmile likes this.
  9. GoodSmile

    GoodSmile Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16
    2
    16

    so which roms u suggest? :D
     
  10. powerkiter

    powerkiter Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    859
    106
    93
    UK
    I'm no rom guru but if you look to the left of this post you will see the 2 roms I use.

    But using the 2.1 rom more of late so 2.3 is a nice big change when it comes out :)
     
  11. GoodSmile

    GoodSmile Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16
    2
    16
    oh we can use multiply roms at the same time?
     
  12. powerkiter

    powerkiter Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    859
    106
    93
    UK
    Only via Xrecovery and not exactly at the same time...

    You can install a custom rom add all the apps and tweaks to the home page you want ect, and then boot into Xrecovery and do a complete back up. Then install another rom and tweak and add as much as you want and then do another back up of that rom and then you can enter Xrecovery at any time and boot up what ever rom you want!

    As you have backed up the roms all apps and added tweaks will be as they was and it only takes around 5 mins max to switch...
     
    GoodSmile likes this.
  13. BingoRingo

    BingoRingo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    399
    54
    53
    Aylmer, Quebec
    I used this ROM

    [ROM] FreeX10 | BETA 4 - MAJOR CAMERA FIX | Froyo 2.2.1 | 27/03/2011 | xRecovery - xda-developers

    It's fast and I get a very good battery life, this is very close to the original version of Android that Google releases. I prefer this one though

    [ROM] XAT CM6FROYO [RC2 | Build 106] [2011-04-12] [Theme v3] - xda-developers

    but for some reason it drains my battery really fast, but it has more features, so I would suggest you try the second one and if the battery life is bad, try the first one.

    But there are many possibilities on XDA, some ROMs have Android 2.3 themes, etc.

    As for your original question, I don't think Rogers blocks anything. They only add their apps on the phone and enter the APNs, but you can still add others.
     

Share This Page

Loading...