1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support A few questions rgd. exporting photos from Galaxy 4 to Photohsop Lightroom.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by okvaal, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. okvaal

    okvaal Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 31, 2013

    May 31, 2013
    12
    2
    16
    Hi. I'm running Adobe Photoshop Lightroom v. 4.4 to edit and organize my photos. So, after having shot a few photos, I will plug my S4 to my PC (USB), opene APL, click "import" and start going, as I always do with my DLS. However, on the import page there will appear all sorts of stuff, not only my recently taken photos named Bestfit, Large, and so on, but also quite a lot of photos I could swear I never have taken, some of them looking like screenshots of some sort. Obviously, this isn't how things should be. So my question is, a) how do I get rid of all those pictures that of some reason seemed to already be on my camera, and b) what should I do to see only one version (the best) of those recently taken? Should I start using a third-party program? In case, which?
    As this was the case also with my former HTC Desire, I suppose this is an Android case, and not Adobe.

    Thanks in advance.
    Ole K
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,555
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,555
    21,996
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Hello there okvaal!!
    I moved your thread here so others with your device can help out :)
    Cheers!
     
  3. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Lightroom does not only look into your DCIM\Camera folder but also other folders and sees all the other photos. Just copy the photos you want imported onto your desktop and then import.
     
  4. okvaal

    okvaal Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 31, 2013

    May 31, 2013
    12
    2
    16
    Thanks a lot. But, Lightroom behaving the way that it does, is there a way to remove the irrelevant files once and for all? As for now, the Source/Samsung S4 will display 354 files in total, of which only 10 or so were from the last time I used the camera. What makes it even worse, is that the "Sorting by date" function seems to be of no use here.
    Also: which files are the one I should copy to LR? There are three (or so) versions of each photo, in what seems to be different sizes. Is there a way to tell by the file name, size or whatever, which one I should import to my PC?

    (And thanks for moving my post here, Mikestony. :) )
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  5. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    When you do the import, does it not let you choose the folders to parse?

    EDIT: I just checked on mine and it does not let one choose folders, because it treats the phone as a media device.
     
  6. okvaal

    okvaal Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 31, 2013

    May 31, 2013
    12
    2
    16
    No, not in the left pane. On the top of it though, there are two up/down arrows and the text "Other sources". There the S4 is listed under "Files", but the DCMI/Camera folder appears to be empty.
     
  7. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    It does not show anything this way either. This means it cannot be done, unless there is some magic trick to exclude files in LR.
     
  8. okvaal

    okvaal Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 31, 2013

    May 31, 2013
    12
    2
    16
    Perhaps I'm a little closer now; there are 5 copies of every new photo I take. I usually end up with two, both with "Time" added to the file name, although in two different formats. Should I take it for granted that the largest one (2322x4128) will be "better" than the smaller (1152x2048)?
     
  9. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    The bigger one should be your best bet. also, you can use the ooption on the right, that say "Exclude suspected" duplicates.
     
  10. okvaal

    okvaal Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 31, 2013

    May 31, 2013
    12
    2
    16
    Thanks a lot for your patience and helpfulness. I'll do a few more tests now. I simply wasn't aware of the "Exclude" function.
     
  11. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Learning my way around it too :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...