1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

A must read over at xda-developers (get your msl)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DaWeav, May 27, 2010.

  1. DaWeav

    DaWeav Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    343
    53
    53
    Lemoore, CA

    Advertisement

  2. puffx0r

    puffx0r Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    29
    0
    15
    Would you care to explain to the fine people of this forum what the MSL is used for?
    For example to change the ringer lag they might be experiencing...
     
  3. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    737
    65
    78
    New York
    Master Subsidy Lock
    The code used to unlock and program you phone... its individual per phone. Can be used for many things, some good, some bad... ;)

    Google should be your friend with this one, but good link :)

    P.S., there's no reason Sprint should ever give you a hard time to obtain it.

    Regards
     
  4. idle19

    idle19 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    21
    3
    16
    i updated my profile which fixed my phone lag issue. also fixed my wifes too. its inthe settings| About phone| System update
     
  5. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    737
    65
    78
    New York
    You're thinking of something else...

    The MSL is a 6 digit code used to gain access to program your phone's innards!
    lol...

    Be careful with it if used and don't give it to anyone, your phone could be cloned with it and knowing some other info. ;) but of course nobody would do something like that - right!??? lol

    Regards
     
  6. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    174
    10
    38
    Northern California
    You need the MSL to change your Slot Cycle Index.
    He's thinking of the right thing.
     
  7. Taterus Maximus

    Taterus Maximus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    267
    27
    43
    Student, Verizon Customer Care
    Boise, ID for the moment
    I never had any issues with Sprint giving me my MSL, but I have heard a couple horror stories. You can also use it to manually update your PRL if you're having issues updating it OTA
     
  8. chinkster

    chinkster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    316
    11
    38
    SF
    im guessing MSL codes is similar to ATT/T-MOBILES unlock codes? they are codes used to unlock phones to be used on other mobile networks?
     
  9. AmericanHero

    AmericanHero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #592
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    181
    18
    38
    This is quick and easy. Works great, thank you for the pointer!
     
  10. bluemark

    bluemark Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    43
    5
    16
    Michigan
    I tried this last night. I couldn't find the lines they are referring to: "I/EpstBroadcastReciever" and "MSL Code="
    Does this work with 1.5?
     
  11. mich0020

    mich0020 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    85
    4
    16
    So. Cal
    Worked perfectly!!!
     
  12. salpiche

    salpiche Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    216
    24
    38
    Sprint RC
    Orlando, FL

    nope! just to be able to get deeper in the system settings of your phone as well as to manually program the phone
     
  13. americonium

    americonium Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009

    Sep 30, 2009
    94
    4
    16
    Airplane catcher.
    Massapequa Park

    I tried to do this on my wife's phone, (it's 1.5), and it wouldn't work. Works on 2.1. I called Sprint, asked for "Advanced Technical Services" and they gave it to me after I asked him to give me the MSL so that I could change my slot from 2 to 0. That's the best I could do. There may be a way to work it on 1.5, but I couldn't figure it out.
     
    bluemark likes this.
  14. thefley

    thefley Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #340
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    346
    26
    63
    Oklahoma
    Thanks for the post
     
  15. TMay102

    TMay102 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Is this something you need to be rooted to do? Tried this but it didn't work...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...