1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root A N00b trying to get Rooted

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wyvilledog, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    That was the version that I was trying to use, if I had done it properly in the first place, I wouldn't be in this mess. Tis my own fault :)
    Maybe the silver lining will be that this way I will learn more ;-)
     

    Advertisement

  2. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    Quick question, I have found this RUU

    RUU_Bravo_Froyo_O2_UK_2.14.207.1_Radio_32.44.00.32U_5.09.05.30_2_release_144166_
    signed.exe

    But my phone software says 2.17.207.3, does this matter?
     
  3. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    you wont be able to, thats a newer version. hmmm we need to find if thats been leaked
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Ive been googling but nothing yet. When was the update? Not sure how long since EddyOS posted a link to an O2 RUU
     
  5. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    it will have probably been when they started selling pvt4 devices fully.
    im wondering on a few things here, im guessing the downgrade method is not an option as its a pvt40000 device so the images will be different?

    we might need to warn o2 users on the new firmware that this is currently not possible to restore to o2 stock.
     
  6. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    NOOOOOoooooooo!

    Don’t say that! lol

    This is typical, especially now I have been spending time reading all about rooting! lol

    Plus I have the wrong bootloader on my phone, doh!

    So what are my options now?

    Could this have anything to do with why I failed to root with the Amon-RA file
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK

    Its more a method of how its written rather than what is written so if the RUU specifically designates that it is written using 20,000 then yes we are in trouble. But a PB99IMG.zip would be fine - but thats not an option :(
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    There could actually be a corruption in the amonRA image you have which is why the flash failed.

    I think S-off is now going to be the simplest option. But if you deviate from the proceedure, theres more to go rong.
     
  9. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    Should I try downloading the Amon-RA file from somewhere else then and give that a go? If you think that it could possibly be corrupt?

    At the moment I was just planning on using a custom ROM and then if and when my stock RUU is available then get it then. I’m not the sort of person that will be constantly changing custom ROM’s. I just want my phone to work better than it does now and to have Gingerbread.

    I haven’t got as far in my research about S-off, I’m trying to learn the things that I need to know first! lol
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    hmm it would be for the downgrader, as downgrader uses pbimg.zip then you could flash o2's pbimage that is extracted from the ruu?
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Oh does it?

    Well the hboot is 0.93 so that didn't change with PVT4, so the bootloader seems to write no matter what the erase size is. Maybe its literally just a recovery issue?

    Would have to test it really.... But maybe not using this case.

    Hmmm
     
  12. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK

    Quite :D
     
  13. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    yes from what i remember the 2.1 image is packed via pb99img and flashed and thats why a gold card is needed to remove the signature.
    i was quite impressed with how teppic did it tbh. (havent seen him in ages, whats happened to him)

    as for the OP
    redownload amonRA 2.0.1 (clear your internet cache again and then download)
    also might want to make sure you dont have apps forced to sdcard using the adb tweek (cant remember the command something like adb shell pm installlocation 1 or something)

    then try it as the install location can cause problems
     
  14. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    Just found this post on another website:
    "This is my first post (I think), but thought that I should share the method that I found work when it comes to getting root and S-OFF with the Telstra branded HTC Desire (stock ROM) with HBOOT 0.93, PVT4 and block size of 40000.

    None of the various Unrevoked 3.21 and AmonRa 2.0.1/CWM methods seemed to work for me, so after four hours of trying different combinations of custom recoveries with different versions of Unrevoked, this is what I found to work:

    (note, this guide is for OS X)

    - download Unrevoked 3.3.2
    - download AmonRa 2.0.1 (recovery-RA_2.0.1.img) (the Desire specific one didn't work for me)
    - download AlphaRev 1.8"

    Used a different Unrevoked program I see, your thoughts on this
     
  15. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    I have an App2SD app that I downloaded from the market (which can only move certain apps), but other than that I haven't looked into adb tweeking yet.
     
  16. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    alpharev is not needed, thats for s-off although it would make it easy to flash your recovery
    amonRA 2.0.1 from the guide does work, weve had many people with 2.0.1 and pvt 4 40000 use it
    we know that your device can be rooted as youve just done it.

    try again with the latest unrevoked then
     
  17. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    uninstall it, i think it does the same thing
     
  18. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    Used lastest unevoked and deleted the apps2SD app and now have this message instead : Error:Failed to get root. Is your firmware too new?
     
  19. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    thought you would 3.21 is the most succesfull
    youll need to try it again with 3.21 now youve uninstalled that app

    also to make sure its not slighly forced it

    open up android terminal on the device (free download from the market)
    then do

    pm setInstallLocation 0

    then try the root proceedure
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK

    How much space is left on your internal memory?
     
  21. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    oooh very good point
     
  22. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Well normally it wouldn't give that error. That error is usually related to SD card apps so not sure whats going on really.
     
  23. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    I have 22.43Mb free out of 150.75Mb.

    I have done this:

    open up android terminal on the device (free download from the market)
    then do

    pm setInstallLocation 0

    Which killed it.


    Then ran unevoked 3.21 but still got failed to flash

    Have been unable to find another download link for the recovery-RA_2.0.1 file so unable to try a different one at the moment, although I am presuming the file is OK if I got that message “phone too new” using the newer unevoked

    Thinking about it, I remember someone mentioning something about the newer versions being smaller in size, so would you suggest to try and free up some more space on my internal memory?
     
  24. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Sometimes unrevoked just wont work on an already rooted phone. Its one of those things.

    There is no alternative amonra download link really, but the image definitely works. All you can do is delete the cache and redownload the same one.

    If thats still not working, I think we need to start looking at S-off.
     
  25. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    3.32 is known to give this error about being too new with older devices

    just to try something mad, try enabling mass storage mode on the desire, also make sure htc sync is no longer installed and you have not installed any android management apps on the pc for ease of use (they can end up having a custom adb.exe in process)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...