1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root A N00b trying to get Rooted

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wyvilledog, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    Cheers, nice one. I think that I understand now. Basically I am using the CM7 to modify the data that I can't do using the Redux and then put the system back to Redux with the newly modified data. Makes sense now, thanks.

    I have another question, why is it that most of the time my signal and data strength at the top of my phone is green but sometimes it is white? What is the difference between green and white? Is the white poorer signal than green? Is there a reason for this?

    I have to admit that I was tempted by the bright lights of CM7 but I just love the idea behind the Redux that I still came running back! :D Still happy with my choice. Would still like to get hold of my stock RUU just in case of anything.

    Also, does anyone know how to turn the sounds off on the camera? I hate the noise when you take a picture. I was disappointed that the picture isn't as big (in file size) as my Froyo camera but then I guess it's picture quality over picture size. I do however, like the fact that it zooms before taking a picture meaning less blurred pictures, unlike the standard Froyo camera :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    green meens its connected to google services. white means its not but data can still be active
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You can remove any files that are not needed before flashing a Rom. I use winrar on a pc. Open the zip (not extract) and navigate where you want and delete the files. Then just exit with the x.

    The great thing is that as its the same Rom, no wipe needed.

    Now if you do the above and go to /system/media/UI/ you will see something like camera_click.ogg.

    Rename or delete
     
    wyvilledog likes this.
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    as you are using amonRA you may need to go to "other" and toggle signature verification if you edit the zips as the signature is stripped when you modify them
     
    wyvilledog likes this.
  5. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    Just to check, but do I Nand first before flashing modified ZIP or just flash the ZIP? It won't affect anything else on my phone?

    I have also deleted the email app (as I use gmail), so that shouldn't come up again in my app list (not going to confuse the phone some how?)?

    Will check the signiture is enabled once flashed
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Always nandroid before flashing anything. Removing email is fine. Signature verification needs to be.off to flash
     
    wyvilledog likes this.
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    always do a nand, its importand as if you flash and for some reaon you get stuck in a bootloop and killed the rom then you can just restore and its back hey presto
     
    wyvilledog likes this.
  8. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    So can I add apps as well as take them away? Can I copy apk files in like the torch apk file from CM7? Or do certain apps read information from else where and could make the phone go a bit screwy Louie?
    The other thing is, I know its a few posts back, but what does connected to Google mean? Connected to there internet servers? Or is it because I have Gmail? Basiclly, what is google connection and what is not?
    Thanks for all your help so far guys, couldn't have done any of this without you, so, er, respect innit............ lol
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    your google account that connects to the market, youtube, gmail, calendar
    if you turn off background data it will go white

    " Can I copy apk files in like the torch apk file from CM7? Or do certain apps read information from else where and could make the phone go a bit screwy Louie?"

    it may or maynot
     
    wyvilledog likes this.
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Indeed. Some apps that are parts of other roms rely on frameworks to function and will not work if simply inserted into new roms. Other apps (generally thirdt party ones) may simply work.
     
    wyvilledog likes this.
  11. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    I currently do the Nand + ext backup, do I need to do that or am I being over the top? Would a Nand backup be just fine?
     
  12. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire

    A nandroid backup also backups the ext. So no need to do it separate.
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    This is amonRA, so it works differently to CWM.
     
  14. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    So which is best on the amonRA? Just a Nand or Nand + ext? Or is this debatable depending on the person? lol
     
  15. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    if you have a2sd then nand+ext must be used as otherwise you will restore and all your apps have gone
     
    wyvilledog likes this.
  16. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    Can someone help me out. Basically, I had a picture message sent to me before I "upgraded" to Redux. I then forgot to save it and lost the picture when I "upgraded". The Same person has sent me the same picture again but I am unable to download it. I click on the download button but either it tries to download it but doesn't or it tries to download it and then displays a message saying message unsuccessful in downloading.

    What am I doing wrong? Or what is wrong? I am on O2
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    How did you set up your apns? For o2 you need one to be internet and another to be mms. You have to go through them and delete all the giff gaff and Tesco ones as they're auto detected as they use the o2 network
     
    wyvilledog likes this.
  18. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,507
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,507
    18,805
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    The CM7 torch works in Redux, though as Rastaman says not all CM apps will.
     
    wyvilledog likes this.
  19. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    Haven't set up any apns, where are they located? I selected O2 under wireless and networks - mobile networks, but that doesn't seem to solve the problem. I have tried looking in the messages menu but no joy
     
  20. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,507
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,507
    18,805
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Try wireless and networks - mobile network settings - access point names.
     
    wyvilledog likes this.
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yes, if you're o2 contract you need "o2 UK" (the one which username is NOT vertigo) and "o2 mms postpay"

    The test MUST BE DELETED, simply selecting the right one is not enough. The o2 UK one has a select button, but the mms one you need has not. The idea is internet goes through the selectable one and mms the other

    [​IMG]
     
    wyvilledog likes this.
  22. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    Hi, I have found the menu but there are more options than I want! Put aside the GiffGaff and Tesco connections as mentioned before (they use O2 network), I am then left with the following selectable and un-selectable options:

    SELECTABLE:

    O2 UK
    Mobile.02.co.uk

    O2 UK
    Mobile.02.co.uk

    O2 UK Postpay MMS
    wap.02.co.uk

    O2 UK Prepay MMS
    payandgo.02.co.uk


    UN-SELECTABLE:

    O2 MMS Postpay
    wap.02.co.uk

    O2 MMS Prepay
    payandgo.02.co.uk

    O2 UK MMS
    Idata.o2.co.uk


    Do I need to delete any (as there seem to be duplicates) and which one shall I use?
     
  23. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
  24. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK

    Not sure if you saw my post above... KEEP the bold red if you are O2 CONTRACT. The bold green LOOKS like a duplicate of the BOLD red one but it is not. One of them has the username VERTIGO in it. Thats the one you delete. Then DELETE EVERYTHING ELSE>

    Hope this helps.
     
    wyvilledog likes this.
  25. wyvilledog

    wyvilledog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    84
    4
    16
    UK
    Oh, I see what you mean now! Yes, I now understand the Vertigo bit. The green one has that as a username.

    So to double check, I keep the two red bold ones and delete everything else?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...