1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

A player that can handle videos with 5.1 audio

Discussion in 'Music & Media' started by hotpocketdeath, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. hotpocketdeath

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    16
    1
    16
    Well, I am new to the world of Android with my new Epic 4G and have been very pleased with a lot of what it can do.

    However, I really want to know why I can not hear any sound whatsoever simply because the video uses 5.1ch aac instead of 2ch aac. The video part of mp4 plays perfectly, encoded to h.264.

    I would really like to know if there is any media player able to play these videos correctly without having to resort to any kind of re-encoding (a waste of time when the original encodes should play fine) or having to use special 5.1ch headphones (bulky and not practical to keep on hand all the time).

    Also, does anyone know if this might be corrected with Froyo 2.2?


    And last, all my videos that have 2ch audio play as they should, sound and all. Same codec settings were used.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    Sorry but the phone is not a media center, its a phone. It cannot play back and decode 5.1 sound. You need to convert the sound to 2 channel.
     
  3. hotpocketdeath

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    16
    1
    16
    I disagree. It is a smart phone with media capabilities. The moment they added the support to play MP3 music, these devices became more then just phones.

    The phone supports the codec used. So this is not totally unreasonable.
     
  4. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    Why would HTC include 5.1 support when all it can output is 2 channel stereo?
     
  5. RichieHD

    RichieHD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    175
    28
    63
    New York City
    My Vibrant can do 5.1 but it claims only with headphones in. Maybe it's simulated 5.1?
     
  6. hotpocketdeath

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    16
    1
    16
    So that people who already have videos encoded don't have to go back and re-encode the audio just so one device can play the file as a whole.

    I have a large library of files on my media server. All of them are encoded to h.264 w/ aac audio. But the only thing stopping me from doing a quick copy over is 90% of them have 5.1 audio.

    I would be very happy if I could just go through my list of movies and do a fast copy and go.

    Oh, and it's actually a Samsung Epic. But I believe this characteristic is within Android itself.

    The Epic is the same way. It can do 5.1, but only if you use 5.1ch headphones. I believe it simply outputs the bitstream and the headphones are processing the sound instead of the phone. But those headphones are large and not practical to carry around everywhere.
     
  7. Serdna117

    Serdna117 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    30
    9
    16
    I don't know man. It seems like the larger headphones are coming back in style. I see people wearing them around their neck all the time on campus. I actually just ordered a pair of sennheisers the other day.
     
  8. Stinky Stinky

    Stinky Stinky Android Expert
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,398
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    4,398
    2,295
    643
    Monkey
    In a Dumpster!

Share This Page

Loading...