1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

A possible cause for your droid's bad performance

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JiUnit, Feb 22, 2011.

1. JiUnit

JiUnit Lurker
    None

Dec 10, 2009
    Graduate Research Assistant
    Amherst, MA
    I've been cursing my droid for several months since its performance became incredibly slow. When I closed an app that often downloads data from the web, such as cnet or TIME, all the app icons suddenly disappeared from the screen and wouldn't come back for 10~20 seconds. Besides, the switch from one screen to another gets very jerky, plus the overall hampered performance, making me really irritated.

Yesterday I accidentally solved the problem: switching the battery. With the old battery that I've been recharging once every day since a year ago, I can hear some weired "tickling" noise if I press the back of my droid to my ear. After I replace the battery with a new one, the noise is gone and my droid gets back to normal with much better performances. I guess that the old battery could not power the CPU as well as it used to, and the overall performance gets hampered when the machine is underpowered. If anyone has similar problem you might want to try switching the battery and see if that helps.

Advertisement

2. shadowdude777

shadowdude777 Android Expert
    None

Nov 8, 2009
    Queens, New York
    Huh... can't see why this would work though. A new battery and an old battery charged to 100% have essentially the same voltages.

3. Wpz2000

Wpz2000 Well-Known Member
    None

Aug 18, 2010
    Male
    Semiconductor Test Engineer, 3D Technology Develop
    Westchester, NY