1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General A question about Metro's 4G...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Yawa, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. Yawa

    Yawa Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010

    Dec 10, 2010
    134
    32
    43
    Pharmacy Tech
    Melrose, MA
    This is addressed to those of you with THE BEST SIGNALS imaginable

    What's it like?

    An example, if needed to sum this up better to those of you who don't get what I'm actually asking.

    In the outskirts of Boston (as well as many places in Boston) my indulge will hit a constant max of about 437K down but 1.2 mb up. In fact, the highest download speed I've ever seen (mind you I'm in a suburb) is 1.1mb, was still lower than my upload speed. My download speeds will also stutter insanely for no reason. As in starting at 1.2 20 percent into the download stopping completely, then starting back up at 230K and slowly climbing to the 400k range.

    For those of you with near perfect coverage the following questions are for you.

    What are your speeds like?
    Does your download needle constantly stutter?
    Does your upload needle go way faster than your download needle?
    Do you drop 4G randomly in spots where it usually is strong?

    Gimme the details yo.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lingming

    lingming Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    93
    5
    16
    Seem to be 1mb download on 4g and 1.1mb on 3g 1.2 upload on 4g and 700kb on 3g
    4g gose in and out randomly with 3g and 1x and yes the phone is uploadng and downloading at times when im doing nothing its plotting !!
     
  3. n3m3515

    n3m3515 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011

    Jun 23, 2011
    44
    9
    16
    When I am at work in Clearwater florida, I get 4000kbps down, 2500 up and love it. Most of the locations I work at through out the county I atleast get 2500kbps down and 1500 up.
    As far as "stutter" if I use Speedtest.net's mobile I really don't see much fluctuation. the usual start slightly slower and then hit max within 20% of test.

    35 miles north (2 miles from home) I still get 3000kbps+ down.
    As soon as I turn into my subdivision, I go in and out of 4g. If I'm lucky enough to get it constant it's only about 1000kbps down and up.

    N3M3515
    N3M3515
     
  4. tiede

    tiede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,494
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    1,494
    522
    213
    Male
    curious, aren't we?
    Orlando, Fl
    In Orlando, I get pretty solid 4g coverage, and have to force my phone to go to 3G (airplaine mode on and off / turn off 4g through the hidden menus)...
    The speeds I get are around 1.5 to 3.5 mpbs down, but on some days, I do hit the great 4.0, but that's VERY rare...
    upload speed seems to be pretty constant across days and locations, however, at 2.7mbps up - no matter how fast or how slow the download speed is.

    The only place where I lose 4g is at work, because I work in a humongous ball of steel, literally. Nobody gets above two bars of signal there, and most of the time, you're lucky to have 1 bar...
     
  5. lingming

    lingming Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    93
    5
    16
    redid mine i was use wired tether before to test now i used to app and download is 1mb and upload is 1.3mb but i notice when you download apps or something it gose really fast 60mb in 20sec
     
  6. astmd1655

    astmd1655 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    May 21, 2011

    May 21, 2011
    72
    13
    18
    Las Vegas, NV
    Usually a lot better than what you see. Normally at least 2mbps down and the same up.

    [​IMG]
    By astmd1655 at 2011-09-07
    Speeds are consistent.
    Right now it is for some reason. Or I didn't notice until now!
    Everything is consistent especially the dead zones! But since I drive the same roads day in and out I know where they are and when to expect my Pandora to drop. I know once I go past certain roads the Indulge just doesn't pickup a 4G signal and sometimes any signal at all.

    However the places where 4G is strong I don't notice any switching back and forth from 1x to 4G or dropped signal.
     
  7. nps531

    nps531 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    155
    16
    38
    Male
    Window Tint
    DeLand, Fl
    i live in fla on the east coast i get 2mb dl and 1.5 upload on good days

    i travel to the west coast a lot and i have to say the 4g is much better over there with 4-5mb download and 2mb upload. i travel alot and do speed tests a lot and find that the tampa west coast of fla has the best 4g

    metro needs to get on the ball though
     
  8. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    i get around 3.5 to 4.0mb download in the pinehills area always 4/4 bars...in my area on metrowest i get around 2.7-3.2mb..
     
  9. Darksterlin

    Darksterlin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Where I live I get about two maybe three bars if I'm lucky, when I'm on the road it obviously depends on where I'm at, where I usually drive for school / work I find myself at 3 or 4 bars of 4G. I only rarely get a problem where I'm dropped down to 1x instead of 4g and that's when I'm driving or when I'm doing volunteer work because I'm nice, the building im in is like a steel block, not fun.
     
  10. n3m3515

    n3m3515 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011

    Jun 23, 2011
    44
    9
    16
    I wonder if that is why Orlando has 3g... Bad 4g coverage or higher usage.
    No 3g here in tampa yet... GRRR!!!!

    N3M3515
     
  11. smotpoker

    smotpoker Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    19
    0
    15
    I was reading about 3g availability in dallas. I tried updating the prl using 228. Since then I have not been able to get 4g speeds no matter if I reset. Battery pull.

    I tried to put a list of my speeds from a speed test but I am having a hard time with attachments using my phone. I can't close the window after attaching file. Anyways, I get 0.2mb\s up and down.

    Using speed test, why does it think that kansas is closest to me?
    How can I force it to think that dallas is closest and would it make a difference?

    I can't watch any youtube.

    I am on the $60 plan. I have bloatware removed from the beginning but not totally rooted etc..
    Any ideas?

    Battery dies like its 4g.

    So I have poor bat life and horrible speeds....so I get the worst of it.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  12. DJYoshaBYD

    DJYoshaBYD Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    43
    0
    15
    I have been seeing averages of 2mb up/down..
     
  13. smotpoker

    smotpoker Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    19
    0
    15
    I don't know if this is just a coincidence but I got much faster speeds when I have gps turned on. I usually have it off to save as much battery life as I can, but when I turn gps on, my upload and download speed have significantly improved.
     
  14. eric181991

    eric181991 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    129
    22
    38
    Philadelphia,Pa
    i heard they are post to be making the 4g faster this month or next month
     
  15. tiede

    tiede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,494
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    1,494
    522
    213
    Male
    curious, aren't we?
    Orlando, Fl
    This is most likely a glitch from the app you're using. For example, speedtest.net will try to guess where you are located based on your GPS coordinates, and if it can't it tries IP Geo location. So it may think you are somewhere you aren't (because of metro's proxy settings) and find a less than optimum server to test from.
    Of course, if GPS is enabled, you get the closest server and you get the correct speed read out.
     
  16. TRS-80

    TRS-80 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    404
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    This is also why the speedtest app will sometimes connect to a speed test server somewhere that seems weird, not at your current location. I think because Metro's network routes the traffic based on IP geo location, and if you come off Metro's internal network in Dallas, you pop up there or in Kansas. I am in Tampa, most of the time I hit Tampa server but sometimes I hit Dallas or Kansas.
     
  17. TattooedDroid

    TattooedDroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011

    Sep 16, 2011
    319
    45
    43
    GuitarGuru (Go Gibson or go home)
    Jacksonville, FL
    Kansas every time...
     

Share This Page

Loading...