1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

A security question..

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Dave Estam, Jan 19, 2016.

1. Dave Estam

Dave Estam Member

I'm really new to android having received Venue 8 for xmas. Looking though installed apps I notice under permissions the extraordinary amount of things that alot of apps can do to you tablet without your permission and it seems at first look there is nothing you can do about it. Maybe I'm naive but when Facebook mentions it can add or modify calender events and send email to guests without owners knowledge, read calender events plus confidential information. Modify or delete the contents of my SD card, read the contents of my sd card. Too many others to mention, does anyone find this a problem or am I reading too much into this. The idea it can take pictures and movies without my knowledge baffles me.
    Many thanks for any comments.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. androidmachine

androidmachine Android Enthusiast

The general problem of permissions is something that Android 6 (Marshmallow) seeks to address. There is generally a reason for each permission. For example, Facebook might want to read your calendar for birthday reminders, etc. It might need to access your camera for the purposes of video chat or posting selfies. I don't use the Facebook app, but I do know there are usually reasons for the permissions.

The only permissions that bother me are network access permissions for apps that have nothing whatsoever to do with network access. They are either fetching ads or they are spying on me which I do not like.

svim, Crashdamage and Hadron like this.
  3. Hadron

Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member