1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support A way to lock AND unlock the screen without using powerbutton?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Run3, Oct 23, 2010.

  1. Run3

    Run3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    34
    2
    16
    Denmark
    So... Im a bit sick of having to use the powerbutton (on the top of my desire) everytime I have to either lock og unlock the screen. Is there a setting or an app that will let me lock and unlock the screen solely by using the touchscreen?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Run3

    Run3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    34
    2
    16
    Denmark
    Nobody knows? The thing is I'm a bit sacred to ware out the power button :s
     
  3. sookster54

    sookster54 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    906
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    906
    56
    78
    By rooting and installing a custom ROM such as CyanogenMod or OpenDesire or Defrost you should be able to wake the phone up with the trackball however there is also a kernel patch out there for Sense that disables the power button for wake and enables the trackball (also needs root).
     
    Run3 likes this.
  4. Run3

    Run3 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    34
    2
    16
    Denmark
    Ok, suppose i have to root my desire then. Sound like you're saying one can root and keep the the android/sense ROM (and then patch it). Nice, i didnt know that.
     
  5. sookster54

    sookster54 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    906
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    906
    56
    78
    Not so sure about that, however if you look at teppic74's pre-rooted Sense rom over at XDA's Desire forums, he has an init.d version which allows custom add-ons and I think that patch works with it.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=773997
     
    Run3 likes this.
  6. Das_Jeeb

    Das_Jeeb Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    74
    2
    16
    You used to be able to unlock with the menu button but that was removed in FroYo for some reason.
     
  7. jim_h

    jim_h Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    271
    17
    38
    Halifax, England
    Yes, you can keep Sense and root and have all sorts of other goodies you wouldn't otherwise get by installing a custom rom :)

    XDA developers is a great place to see all the different options available to you, but I'd stick to this forum for learning the art of rooting and installing roms.
     
    Run3 likes this.
  8. speedycolzalez

    speedycolzalez Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    513
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    Widgetlocker allows you to unlock the phone with other buttons. No root required.
     
    ben.fred likes this.
  9. pezzer

    pezzer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    42
    8
    16
    So does LockBot(Free) and I use Lock Screen Widget to ...... err Lock the screen. No root required for either and saves the Power on/off button.
     
  10. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    cool - will be trying these - using power button all the time is annoying imo

    cheers
    dan
     
  11. ben.fred

    ben.fred Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    144
    1
    56
    what a great app!!!!
     
  12. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    Is there a way of doing flight mode without
    Power button too? I use it at night so not disturbed
    Cheers
    Dan
     
  13. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    ok have installed widget locker - but it doesnt let me unlock phone with selected trackball :/ ie when the screen is actually locked and blank
     
  14. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    sorted - need to enable easy wake up option - all good :)
     
  15. JayJayW

    JayJayW Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    69
    4
    36
    I've put flight mode on one of my home screens, along with GPS, bluetooth and wifi. If you go to add widgets then settings you will find them in there. I put them all there so I can turn them off and on easily.
     
  16. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    cool - thanks
     
  17. 1208

    1208 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    68
    0
    15
    How exactly? looked in the settings but cant find anything that relates to this, I have to press the Power Button then the Lockbot screen comes up :thinking:
     
  18. JayJayW

    JayJayW Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    69
    4
    36
    Am I the only one who likes the way the screen is locked and unlocked? Makes it almost impossible for it to come unlocked and ring someobdy on your pocket.
     
  19. pezzer

    pezzer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    42
    8
    16
    Maybe you need to fiddle with the Config. On mine if I press the home button it wakes up the screen and take you to Home. If i press the other buttons it takes you to the Lockbot Lockscreen which needs another swipe/press.
     
  20. 1208

    1208 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    68
    0
    15
    I went ahead and bought Widgetlocker, great App but got a problem. I turned off the 'Use Visable Pattern' in the main settings but it still comes up after I use the Unlock in WL. This is bugging me somewhat and I cant find anything in WL settings to change it :(
     
  21. SlugForAButt

    SlugForAButt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    24
    5
    16
    Widgetlocker for the win. :)
     
  22. MikeC1408

    MikeC1408 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    260
    28
    43
    Essex
    Nope, I agree with you.

    You could always install Lockscreen from the Market, gives you a widget for the homescreen that locks the phone
     
  23. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    yep - just added lockscreen widget myself :)
    seems to work well with WL
     
  24. emjayto

    emjayto Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I just installed No Lock by BoD and it seems to work great. Plus, it's free. Widget locker is 7 bucks on my phone.
    Once locked, I hit the tracker ball and my phone's good to go.
     
  25. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #108
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    2,947
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    2,947
    292
    263
    $7 is that right?! im sure i didnt pay that much for it

    even if it was still rate it - working well now for a month :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...