1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root a2sd - not working? - need some info

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thetornado, Sep 16, 2010.

  1. thetornado

    thetornado Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    20
    5
    16
    From what I can tell a2sd is installed but not working. I wiped/formatted my sd card, then mounted at EXT3, but the apps are not installing to sd card from what i can tell. Can anyone point me to the a2sd tutorial or something...?

    I ran # a2sd check, here were the results:
    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    Look at that line in the bottom:

    /dev/block/mmcblk0p2, 686.6, 49.3, ..., /system/sd

    This is telling me that you have 49.3 MB of apps on your ext3 partition of your SD card. xtrROM remounts that partition as /system/sd.
     
  3. thetornado

    thetornado Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    20
    5
    16
    Not sure I know what you mean. Before I did anything my internal memory was 55.77MB
    I came across a tutorial that said after you mounted EXT3 > Reboot > run: # a2sd cachesd

    seemed to be a success, it rebooted the phone. so after that i un-installed about 10 programs, then reinstalled them.
    after i ran i did that my internal memory was 127MB

    here is another check, is it working now?
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    The internal memory going from 55 to 127 indicates that a2sd is indeed working.
    Xtr basically 'tricks' the phone into thinking that the ext partition of your SD card is internal memory.
     
  5. thetornado

    thetornado Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    20
    5
    16
    Makes sense. Any idea why it went from 55 to 127? I believe I specified for 768MB when I partitioned the card.
     
  6. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Nope, sorry. Don't know the answer to that. But I can tell you that 120-something to 130-something are pretty much always what I see as available internal memory when folks are talking about how this works. So you're right there in the norm.
     
  7. thetornado

    thetornado Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    20
    5
    16
    Ok, well i dont mind being in the "norm" haha. thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...