1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root A2sd script in redux

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ducky1979, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    So I wiped my SD card, re ran gparted installed my backup files and titanium yet when I booted into reduce it still remembered my wifi and all apps, but after installing a2sd script several times terminal still says a2sd not found? Any ideas how I can do a full wipe and ensure its as new?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
    Check the card with Gparted again. I flashed my first ROM last week and couldn't get a2sd working initially.

    Finally I ran Gparted again and the ext2 partition had disappeared!
    The first time I did it I resized the FAT32 partition, but next time I just deleted all partitions and created two new ones.

    Also, don't forget to hit 'apply' to commit the partition changes.
     
  3. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire

    Did you just put the card in totally empty and install the rom?
    Except for the rom and a2sd script.
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,485
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,485
    14,600
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You can always try the "belt and braces" approach: factory reset, then format /data, format /sd-ext, wipe cache, wipe dalvik - that way you should have wiped everything twice!

    And I can tell you are posting from your phone - damned autocorrect always changes "Redux" to "Reduce" for me as well ;)
     
  5. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire

    Do you mean go through advanced and do each 1 individual?
     
  6. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    is it safe to format system??
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,485
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,485
    14,600
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Yeah - can't remember where all of the options are, but something along those lines.
     
  8. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    its in mounts and storage, there is also format boot. i didnt do that but i did factory reset then went through all the others except boot. ill let you know how i get on. the ext is there as it shows up in android mate. do it should be working but everytime i use terminal it says a2sd not found?
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,485
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,485
    14,600
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Formatting system is something that happens when you restore a nandroid, so it should be safe, but the ROM flash should replace system anyway.
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,485
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,485
    14,600
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    "terminal" says a2sd not found? You mean the "a2sd" command at the command line? That's Darktremor, but I don't think that's the script Redux uses.
     
  11. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    did all that and installed redux and it still remembers my wifi and some apps? really really wierd. if i reformat the sd card and only put the rom a2sd and kernal will it still install as it wont have clockwork mod file installed on the sd?
     
  12. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    well i downloaded it off redux site so i ran the command from terminal, is that not the right way then. i always set the dalvic to sd-ext. whats the command for redux then. or have i just wasted hours over nothing?

    EDIT, ive just read redux's site again and the script auto does this. what a knob i am. ive been messing about for hours with this. still cant uderstand why it knows my wifi though or why the apps are all there.
     
  13. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,485
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,485
    14,600
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    There's a separate dalvik2ext download for Redux.

    Sorry, should have spotted earlier - your first post did say "terminal still says a2sd not found", but I didn't make the connection.
     
  14. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #137
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    dalvic to sd off redux site is just a flashable zip. That's what i did. No need for terminal
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,485
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,485
    14,600
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    It's "apps_dalvik2ext-UNSIGNED.zip", on the "other downloads" section of the Redux download site.
     
  16. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #137
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    that's the 1 Hadron.
     
  17. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,485
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,485
    14,600
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I remember from when I do a clean install that the first time setup includes some options to let Google back up various data beyond the usual contacts etc. I never tick it, so am not sure what it does and does not include, but maybe that's where it's coming from?
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    good point. I always untick this.
     
  19. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    cheers guys. i will remember this for next time.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...