1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root A500 Bootloader question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by D-U-R-X, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Only had my A500 since March and am loving it so far. Had it a week before I rooted, installed ClockWorkMod and flashed Taboonay's ICS.

    Have been thinking about trying a couple if other ROM's (especially since CM9 has just been released), but wanted to get a bit of info on bootloaders.

    How do you know what boot loader you have? I want to make sure I don't do anything that I shouldn't :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    If you never installed the Acer ICS leak, then you probably have the Honeycomb bootloader. If you can run fastboot on your tablet, then you have the ICS bootloader. The HC bootloader didn't have fastboot.
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  3. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Nice one... I never had the ICS leak, so I guess I have the HC Bootloader.

    Will work based on that for now then ;)
     
  4. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
  5. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Cheers matey... will get that downloaded and give it a go :)
     
  6. DDroump

    DDroump Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011

    Nov 24, 2011
    14
    2
    16
    You can get it from Acer recovery installer app in market you need root, or you can get it from the a500manager app>> forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1622425
     
  7. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    THINKING about Upgrading to the ICS Bootloader...but this is looking REALLY complicated.
    Anyone have any thoughts?
     
  8. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    I've had a go but, for some reason, I failed each time and eventually gave up. Think the way that I may have to do it is to go back to stock, update OTA and then re-root!

    If you would like, I can dig out some info that explains (think there's a video too) and post it all in here. It's not as complicated as all that tbh! :)
     
    MahaloCat likes this.
  9. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    meh......Im only contemplating it cause im getting bored.
    Wanting to try that Jellybean SDK, team Kang, CM9 nightly etc.....
     
  10. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    I upgraded a while back. The guide is pretty hard to follow. The hardest part is getting a CPU ID. I found an old NANDroid and was able to pull it from there.
     
  11. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    I've been putting it off for ages, but have just done it. Now on the unlocked ICS bootloader and currently setting up on rooted stock ICS (not that I think I'll be on stock for long) :)

    Here is the thread that I used to do it... happy to help anyone that fancies a go at it!! Think my issues before were that I wasn't sure that I could proceed (as I'd misunderstood the instructions on there) and didn't have all drivers installed! CPUID issue is sorted by having the OTA tool, which gets all details needed!! :)
     
  12. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,496
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,496
    7,918
    1,453
    Male
    Systems Administrator
    Northern Ky
    Help? lol
    http://androidforums.com/iconia-tab-a500-all-things-root/625475-bricked-a500.html
     
  13. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Will try help NA :)
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...