1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General A500 came with 3.01 update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sulky, May 22, 2011.

  1. sulky

    sulky Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Only noticed when I tried to update, only had it 3 days. So looks like new ones are getting shipped with the latest version. Anyone else think the power cable is too short btw
     

    Advertisement

  2. PeteDee

    PeteDee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    190
    6
    36
    Oh yes, far to short.
     
  3. michaelg1030

    michaelg1030 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    88
    6
    16
    3.1 is the newest update, which is what the xoom got. 3.01 isn't much of anything. I believe 3.01 is just acer's original firmware.
     
  4. gabeyong

    gabeyong Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    725
    288
    113
    Just so you know...

    Android 3.01 Updates
    1) Native Browser
    - Updates for HTML5 support
    - New multi-touch support for JavaScript and plugins
    - Updates for overflow scrolling

    2) Adobe Flash Player update 10.2
    - Hardware accelerated video presentation for H.264
    - Deeper integration with the Android browser rendering engine
    - Enhanced performance for multi-core tablets
    - Automatic soft keyboard support

    3) Bug fix that addresses daylight savings time and calendar appointments

    4) Updates for USB and Bluetooth


    Android 3.1 Updates
    - UI refinements
    - Connectivity for USB accessories
    - Expanded Recent Apps list
    - Resizeable Home screen widgets
    - Support for external keyboards and pointing devices
    - Support for joysticks and gamepads
    - Robust Wi-Fi networking
    - Enterprise support
    - Updated set of standard apps
    + Browser
    + Gallery
    + Calendar
    + Contacts
    + Email

    Reference:


    "A wise man can learn more from a foolish question than a fool can learn from a wise answer." - Bruce Lee
     
  5. bazsh

    bazsh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    41
    0
    15
    Im newbies in Android
    Just bought Acer Iconia a500 for 1 week
    If the update for v3.1 is available,how can i upgrade my device?
    And does my installed app will be gone?
     
  6. PeteDee

    PeteDee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    190
    6
    36
    3.1 is not available yet only 3.01.

    Should only be a couple of weeks though before 3.1 is here.

    Pete
     
  7. mtollin

    mtollin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    92
    3
    16
    Yea, but I just got off the phone after an hour with Acer about my 1 day old a500. It came with 3.01 but this is not what the are pushing out. They are OTA'ing kernal 1.4xxx where my machine has 1.01xxx. The screen problem, GPS, Microsoft Exchange are all in the newer kernal.

    They said I have to wait until it is pushed to me, no way to force it.
     
  8. pamela55

    pamela55 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    6
    0
    25
    Does anyone have an answer to the short cord problem ??
     
  9. pamela55

    pamela55 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    6
    0
    25
    does anyone have an answer to the short cord problem???
     
  10. mrcaptain

    mrcaptain Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    194
    19
    38
    I just use an extension cord.
     
  11. Internetpilot

    Internetpilot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    +1 on the extension cord solution.

    After looking into aftermarket adapters it's really the only sure solution out there.
     
  12. Lofeg

    Lofeg Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    16
    1
    16
    Long Island NY
    don't know what they were thinking with the extremely short power cord! Just don't make sense. Maybe to save some pvc plastic and the environment?
     
  13. GalaxyUK

    GalaxyUK Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Health care
    UK
    Extension cord gets my vote
     
  14. frodooftheshir

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Does anyone know when the 3.1 will b available??
     

Share This Page

Loading...