1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General A500 wifi problem possible 2nd solution

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mtollin, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. mtollin

    mtollin Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    92
    3
    16
    With GB 3.1, alot of people are experiencing Wifi connection issues when moving to a new location. While there is a double reset option some suggest, I haven't had any issues when I follow this simple procedure. Yes, one day it may stop working, but for now, ever since 3.1 I've never had an issue.

    First let me say my device has never been rooted, nor is it now.
    I'm on the OTA 3.1. It's a Costco 32gig model. ($429 just got my refund :))

    What have I done? Well, if I know I'm NOT leaving a location with Wifi connection, I will let the unit go to sleep, and never lose wifi on wakening.

    If I know I'm taking it to a NEW location, I POWER OFF the tablet, and when arrive at new location turn it back on.

    That's it. No resets, no carrying it around in sleep mode.

    Putting in Airplane mode instead of turning off might work too, haven't tried it yet!

    Good project for someone else.

    REMEMBER I'M NOT ROOTED!

    Hope you have as much luck with this as I have. Sharing it will probably jinx me.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bazsh

    bazsh Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    41
    0
    15
    I never had WiFi issue ever since I updated my device to 3.1
    And I hope I will never get that forever
    Anyway thanks for the tip mate
     
  3. gerryex

    gerryex Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    33
    11
    18
    INTERESTING!! So far I don't have the problem but have only connected to my home Wi Fi. I'm traveling soon and am concerned I may have problems connecting to other Wi Fi networks. But, I really don't use it all that much (I bought it mostly for when I travel) so when I'm done I power down rather than put it to sleep. So if your observation is correct then maybe I won't have any problems!

    Gerry
     

Share This Page

Loading...