1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

about custom roms....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cacaman, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    Is there any rom available that is a version of android higher than 1.5? Also can you get all the apps in the market with fresh1.1 ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. 702DROID

    702DROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    582
    22
    63
    NEVADA
    yes and yes
     
  3. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    Do you lose sense ui if you root with ftrsh 1.1?
     
  4. romeosidvicious

    romeosidvicious Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    No yo u don't lose anything you don't want to lose. in fact you gain an optimized version of SenseUI with fresh so you gain performance. Get fresh and the pre-kitchen and build exactly what you want.
     
  5. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    I don't believe you get ALL of the apps in the Market with Fresh1.1. You won't get the ones that are for 1.6 or higher (Google Goggles). I could be wrong on this, and have done something wrong with my load of Fresh1.1, but I doubt it.
     
  6. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    Bummer. Is there any rom that is 1.6 or greater or one that will give apps that require 1.6 ot gteater like google goggles?
     
  7. 702DROID

    702DROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    582
    22
    63
    NEVADA
    yes there is but with out the kernal source they are incomplete and the cemera will not work so google goggles will not work anyways
     
  8. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    Hmmm i can live without goggles but man there are other apps i want. Guess i'll root with fresh and patiently wait for 2.1 during 1H2010 or whenever it. actually gets to us....
     
  9. andy22

    andy22 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    72
    0
    15
    Work on 2.1 is ongoing so we will have it sooner then Sprint will push it.
     
  10. Droidone

    Droidone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    595
    118
    93
    I wish we had a 1.6 rom too. I would like the new market and the update to google maps...the small update, not the one on the droid....that would be nice too though
     
  11. 702DROID

    702DROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    582
    22
    63
    NEVADA
  12. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    Is the 1.6 ROM provided in the link above a stable release or is it buggy? Just want to know how stable it is.
     
  13. andy22

    andy22 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    72
    0
    15
    Where are those roms from?
     
  14. 702DROID

    702DROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    582
    22
    63
    NEVADA
    ONLY 1.5 ROMS ARE STABLE untile htc releases the cdma kernal source
     
  15. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    When will the CDMA kernel be released?
     
  16. Droidone

    Droidone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    595
    118
    93
  17. 702DROID

    702DROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    582
    22
    63
    NEVADA
    xda
     
  18. 702DROID

    702DROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    582
    22
    63
    NEVADA
    email and ask HTC
     
  19. romeosidvicious

    romeosidvicious Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    The Hero kernel has been released. HTC says the CDMA driver is proprietary which is not an uncommon situation with GPL stuff. As long as they didn't call any GPL_ONLY libraries and released any code they modified outside of the driver then they don't have to release it. A lot of manufactures provide binary blobs for Linux drivers and don't release the source. NVIDIA is the biggest in this category. They don't GPL their drivers and it is likely if what they claim is true then they will not release the CDMA driver they built using proprietary information from Sprint.

    There is a misconception that they have to provide us source that will compile and run on our phone. This is not the case. As long as they released their modifications to existing code they are in the clear. Well there is slightly more to it than that but as far as the layman is concerned that's really what it boils down to. They don't even have to provide the source as a download and could charge for media and postage and print it on paper if they wanted to. Heck they could have third grader write it in crayon and charge for the paper and postage and still be in compliance with the GPL.

    Even if they did have to release the source they could have done even more at the Android system level which is under the Apache license and wouldn't have to release that source at all. So even if they are forced to release the source they used in the 1.5 kernel, and that's questionable as to whether it's GPL or not, we still might not get a working device out of their release. It wouldn't be hard to do and since they claim it's based on proprietary information then it's likely they know exactly what they are doing from the GPL standpoint and won't be forced to release anything proprietary which means no matter what they release we won't be able to build our own from their source.
     
  20. 702DROID

    702DROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    582
    22
    63
    NEVADA
    taken from a post on xda

    Thank you for contacting HTC about the open source software for the Sprint Hero.

    The Kernel code will be available for the Sprint Gero by this weekend at http://developer..htc.com/ .
    I apologized for any inconveniences you may have experienced.

    Please feel free to contact us with any inquiries you may have in the future.

    HTC Technical Support Team
     
  21. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    I want to root my phone using the auto-root function in pre-kitche 0.2. I've already downloaded the pre-kitchen, the fix, the Fresh ROM, and the Sprint Hero RUU at flipz's site. Do I still need to get nandroid and the android SDK? Can anyone provide any insight as to how to root using the auto-root feature?
     
  22. andy22

    andy22 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    72
    0
    15
    plug and play. Nandroid is included in the kitchen. Once you root you can use it. It is super easy but I am tired now after upgrading two phones and rebuilding the screens. Maybe later I can write up a noob guide. It does take a minute to find all the parts and pieces you need which you have done already. Go to the pre-kitchen thread on geekfor.me, the one before the fix was found. Follow the 4 steps for checking that your device is connected. You do it in the command prompt. Use a task killer to kill all the apps you can prior to rooting for whatever reason this helps with a memory issue. Otherwise you just push buttons and sit back and watch. The nexus one boot screen is cool but is long.
     
  23. 702DROID

    702DROID Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    582
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    582
    22
    63
    NEVADA
    nandroid get on your phone when you flash the recovery image flips auto kitchen does that for you first thing to do is click the help feature so it test your system and tell you if you have everything you need
     
  24. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    I tried to auto-root but in the diagnostics I got: Sendkeys test failed. I don't know what this means or what do I have to do. Help !!!
     
  25. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    is it actually long, or is that an illusion with one of the boot screens removed (the "android" one i think)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...