1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support About Straight Talk

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xploPR, Jan 26, 2014.

  1. xploPR

    xploPR Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    823
    167
    93
    Richmond, VA.
    I Bought the Straight Talk Activation kit from walmart for my N4, i was wondering if i need to go back to stock rom before i activate the service? im running a 4.4.2 nexus 5 experience stock rom with a tmobile sim card.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    If the phone is unlocked, or locked to TMobile, no.
     
    xploPR likes this.
  3. xploPR

    xploPR Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    823
    167
    93
    Richmond, VA.
    The phone is unlocked, i got it from google, i see a blue and a pink sim card, both nano sim cards for at&t. can i use any? or one is for lte? im kind of lose now lol
     
  4. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    You can't use AT&T SIMS on TMobile, but TMobile is pink and white, AT&T is blue and orange.

    Take them out (with th battery out, of course), put in your ST TMobile SIM and follow the directions that came with it. (You'll have to set the APN to get any internet connection, including MMS. That's in the instructions.)

    If you have any problem, go to ST's Facebook page (that seems to be where their best people are) and ask for help.
     
  5. xploPR

    xploPR Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    823
    167
    93
    Richmond, VA.
    :( straight talk sim cards are to small for the sim tray holder on the nexus 4
     
  6. bjacks12

    bjacks12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    3,067
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    3,067
    3,133
    423
    Male
    Professional Smartass
    Las Vegas
    You must be trying the nano sim. Use the micro sim. I've set up friends on Straight Talk with Micro Sims and it worked fine. Mine is a cut down mini sim
     
    xploPR likes this.
  7. xploPR

    xploPR Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    823
    167
    93
    Richmond, VA.
    I got it working, used it for a whole day, went back to my original tmobile sim card, i was getting awful speeds with ST and my data was disconecting all the time.
     
  8. i4cbj45

    i4cbj45 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    106
    6
    36
    Male
    LTO
    Use the Tmo sim card. It's better than the at&t .

    Just make sure your apn is set up correctly, and I get regular speeds of over 15m down and that's no hybrid radios or anything.

    Sounds as if your issue may lie in the APN settings.
     
  9. xploPR

    xploPR Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    823
    167
    93
    Richmond, VA.
    And what should i write for APN? i downloaded the apn app that the instructions recommended.
     
  10. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Rank:
     #113
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,974
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    I am dealing with GSM speeds that are lower than what my Spirit got. :(

    I also asked here about APNs. I was told it was a Go/No go situation and wouldn't affect speeds per se.

    The APN is the correct one or not. You either HAVE data, or you don't.

    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  11. i4cbj45

    i4cbj45 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    106
    6
    36
    Male
    LTO
    Name the APN straight talk

    APN : WAP.TRACFONE
    PROXY: NOT SET
    PORT:8080
    USERNAME:NOT SET
    PASSWORD: NOT SET
    SERVER: NOT SET
    MMSC: HTTP://MMS.TRACFONE.COM
    MMS PROXY: NOT SET
    MMS PORT: NOT SET


    tHAT SHOULD BE ALL YOU NEED, so long as you're in a good coverage area.
     
    xploPR likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...