1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Absolute Rubbish

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ramsbottom, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. ramsbottom

    ramsbottom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    I have recently changed from an iPhone to a HTC Wildfire and I cant belive how bad Andriod 2.2 is

    Here is a few issues that I have

    1. Have to have it on USB debugging as it doesn't work with Win 7
    2. I cannot get any mp4 films to work on it
    3. Every other mp3 file cannot be played
    4. Cannot install any more apps that cant be moved to SD Card as the phone is full (Phones fault).
    5. No bbc iplayer support
    6. no you tube support, even though it comes with a you tube app
    7. no flash support

    I suppose I am most irritated by the fact that i cant get any films to work on it.

    Basically its crap:thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #70
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,519
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,519
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    Don't blame Android 2.2.

    I had 2.2 on my Droid 2 and I have it on my Droid X.

    I have no problems with you tube, playing mp4 or mp3, or flash.

    Android is also not the cause of you not being able to move apps to the sd card, the developer has to build that function into the app.

    I am also using Windows 7 and I have no problem connecting my X, and I don't use usb debugging.
     
  3. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Mate, HTC Wildfire is a low end phone... Its soo cheap, you cant expect it to match up to top of the line android can you...?
     
  4. Gnomad

    Gnomad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010

    Nov 26, 2010
    129
    21
    38
    Ohio
    Also has the same supoport for BBC iplayer as your iphone.
     
  5. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,619
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,619
    34,691
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    You have to be more specific with "doesn't work". There are several ways to connect your phone to your PC. HTC provides optional syncing tools for connections that should not require debugging mode enabled. Or, you should be able to mount the phone as removable storage by drawing down the notification bar and selecting the USB connection notice.

    Try this Best Video Player PRO for Android | AppBrain.com

    That is most likely because they are DRM enabled and licensed through iTunes.

    The phone has no fault. It didn't deliberately do anything, it's a piece of technology. The "fault" lies with the limited resources of a low-end phone and the buyer not realizing this at time of purchase. Caveat emptor. That said, there are ways to move "unmoveable" apps to the SD card, if you are interested. Let me know and I'll post the instructions.

    Sure it does. Try an app like TV Shows Stream (Lite Version) - Android app on AppBrain

    Again, you must be more specific with "no support" because FroYo (2.2) absolutely supports Flash and Youtube. You may find, however that some streaming media won't play properly or play at all because of the smaller screen resolution on the Wildfire.

    The phone does what it is capable of doing. If you want a steak, don't buy a pork chop and then complain about it. Of course if the butcher told you that he had a pork chop that tasted just like steak, then surely that's another issue.

    [​IMG]

    And don't call me Shirley.
     
    KENNECTED and ramsbottom like this.
  6. ramsbottom

    ramsbottom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    No it doesnt mate, it has no support at all. :eek:
     
  7. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    546
    84
    78
    England
  8. ramsbottom

    ramsbottom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    12
    1
    16
  9. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,619
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,619
    34,691
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    If you want to move more apps to the SD card, you'll need to have the Android SDK installed. How-To Install Android SDK On Windows, Mac and Linux

    Then on your phone go to settings>applications>development and enable USB Debugging. Plug your phone into the PC using the USB cable.

    open a command prompt on your PC (start>run type "cmd" press ENTER)

    Change directory to the android-sdk-windows\tools folder

    At the prompt type

    Code (Text):
    1. adb devices
    and you should see your phone listed as a serial number.

    type

    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell pm setInstallLocation 2
    Done.

    Now the default location to install apps is the SD card. And, some apps that you couldn't move to the SD card will now be able to be moved. Keep in mind Widgets and services should always be installed to the phone and not the SD card, so if you follow the steps above and you install a widget afterwards, you will need to go to settings>applications>manage applications and manually move it to the phone. If you want to set the default install location back to the phone, you simply repeat the process but use

    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell setInstallLocation 0
     
  10. ramsbottom

    ramsbottom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    This is what i mean, I shouldn't have to do any of this to watch movies on my phone

    Summer Player doesn't work at all?
    TV shows - based on flash - doesn't work

    oh dear:(
     
  11. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Get a better phone lol. You should know what to expect because it was so cheap! You would have none of these issues on a better android phone.

    You cant have both a low end price and a top end performance.
     
    KENNECTED likes this.
  12. ramsbottom

    ramsbottom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    Sorry but it isnt about performance, its about what htc says its phone can do, flash, films, you tube - none of which it can do

    Paul
     
  13. Gnomad

    Gnomad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010

    Nov 26, 2010
    129
    21
    38
    Ohio
    I guess if I would have been a little more awake, I would have realized that the HTC Wildfire has Android 2.1 Eclair, not 2.2 unless you flashed 2.2 onto it. The BBC app only supports 2.2 and above.
     
  14. ramsbottom

    ramsbottom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    Nope mines got Andriod 2.2 and has since its new.

    Cheers
     
  15. skunkonkrunk

    skunkonkrunk Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    39
    12
    38
    Musician / Mobile retail
    England
    I know what you mean mate. My pushbike can't keep up with motorbikes.
     
  16. ramsbottom

    ramsbottom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    Noticed that you have had a Desire and a Samsung Galaxy S. IYHO what is the best phone

    Need to get my misses one and it wont be a wildfire:D
     
  17. seepage

    seepage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    442
    30
    43
    I know people with wildfires who can do most of what you say.
    Maybe something wrong with yours?
    And A decent lump of cheese will cost as much as a wildfire but also does none of these things. How much does an Iphone cost to buy?
     
  18. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    Since when does HTC say that Wildfire supports Flash??? - It does not!

    Mp3 playback is a simple matter, and any Android phone should be able to do that.

    MP4 playback is depending on the complexity of the video material. For example, a video with a larger resolution than the crappy QVGA on Wildfire is a problem for that phone.

    Bottom line - as many have already said: get a better phone...
     
  19. ramsbottom

    ramsbottom Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    Sorry but it says full flash support and you-tube streaming, none of which i have got

    HTC Wildfire - Spec
    :eek:
     
  20. KENNECTED

    KENNECTED Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    If you're that disappointed and you feel the device is "absolute rubbish" return it and end your aggravation! Period.
     
  21. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    12,202
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,202
    3,788
    1,123
    sorry dude...

    here is your biggest issue:
    you got a low end.. and have highend expectations.

    solution:
    lower your expectations
    or
    get highend android phone.
     
  22. seepage

    seepage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    442
    30
    43
    Have you installed flash.?
     
  23. Angras

    Angras Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    24
    1
    16
    I have a similar reply as everyone else..I have the HTC Incredible upgraded from the original Droid. The difference is night and day...just get a better phone dude :)
     
  24. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    Bloody lies... :eek:
    This is what HTC says in the specs from the link above...

    And this is what they clarify later... HTC Wildfire - Does the built-in browser support Adobe Flash?

    Bottom line - HTC Wildfire doesn't have the juice to run Full Flash, aka v10.
    Adobe Full Flash requires a minimum processor with an Arm v7 instruction set. Wildfire has only Arm v6...
     
    EgoDogg likes this.
  25. philbridges

    philbridges Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    18
    2
    16
    Govt IT
    New Forest, UK
    Have to say I've used Mplayer as an iPlayer alternative, it's the BBC who don't support the Wildfire, not the other way round. You probably can't play Movies because you need to convert screen res in one of the many freebie converters. I use YouTube all the time and it seems to play anything I throw at it MP3/AAC wise (but obliviously not DRM stuff)

    Sounds like you're the sort of person the folks in the Apple store are just waiting to take
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...