1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Absolutely new. HTC Evo 4G.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by 737tdi, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. 737tdi

    737tdi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    I have no, zero, zilch experience with smart phones, I am going to receive 2 new HTC Evo4g's tomorrow.

    What do I do first?

    What do I do second?

    Give me some hints.

    Let me know about the battery, the charger, the protective cases. The protective cases with big batteries? everything please.

    I have a "phone".

    Karl
     

    Advertisement

  2. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,565
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,565
    8,077
    1,453
    Male
    Systems Administrator
    Northern Ky
    HTC EVO 4G - Android Forums
    Read Read Read:D:D
    Seriously though, check out the sub-forums for accessories and read the tips/tricks section, lots of good knowledge and great user base

    Welcome to Android Forums!!
     
  3. 737tdi

    737tdi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    Thanks for the welcome. I have been reading but there is enough info. to make my phone obsolete by the time I get through it all. You tech. guys should get together and put up a sticky on the "first things to do". As far as setting up, I am 49 years old and not smart phone savvy. My current phone is 8 years old. I got lost somewhere in the 80's???LOL.
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    34,835
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    34,835
    30,522
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Welcome to Android Forums!

    The first things you should do is figure out what you want to do. Some people want games, some want productivity apps, some want things that are too nasty to mention. My preferred way is to randomly press stuff until something cool happens and then try and remember what I just did.

    Or you could browse apps in the market or on AppBrain.

    At 49 you should know enough not to try and keep up with the young folks. (I'm 52, BTW ;) )
     
  5. 737tdi

    737tdi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    lunatic: My daughter can run mental circles around me. All the phone/computer/game/music///// It never stops. Sadly I think. They just don't stop to see the good stuff. I was not that way at her age.

    I got the phones today and have them charging. I haven't turned them on yet. Figured I charge them first.

    Anything I should do first??? Other then call sprint.
     
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    34,835
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    34,835
    30,522
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I here you. I tell my son that back when we were young we had to make landline phone calls in ten feet of snow ... uphill ... both ways! :rolleyes:

    Seriously, you'll need a gmail account to log the phone on to the market. On of the first thing you have to do is create one if you haven't got one already. Beyond that, just browse the market and install an app or two. Setup any email accounts and surf a little to see how you like it. The rest is up to you to figure out what you like and what you don't
     
  7. 737tdi

    737tdi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    OK: here we go with the smart phone. I called and set it up and I am now committed, Maybe. Turning it on.
     
  8. 737tdi

    737tdi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    This new phone is asking me for a server address. What is that??? I have entered my user and password but I don't know what the server address is?
     
  9. 737tdi

    737tdi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    It won't let me get past this in the setup.
     
  10. 737tdi

    737tdi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    lunatic: Is "G mail the same as the google setup? If so I got through that if not, I'm lost.
     
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    34,835
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    34,835
    30,522
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    If I remember, you should be prompted for a gmail address or offer to create one. If you have a gmail account you enter your gmail address (username@gmail.com) and then it prompts you for a password. That was it for me on AT&T. Perhaps Sprint is a little different. Give me a second. I'm doing some research for you.
     
  12. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    34,835
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    34,835
    30,522
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    This is right from Sprint's website.

     
  13. 737tdi

    737tdi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    Thank you: I had to go by Sprint to get my contacts swapped over and he was able to get the emails synced pretty quickly. He couldn't get the reader? to download all the numbers on the old phone so I'm going to have to do almost 100 numbers manually.
     
  14. zandroid

    zandroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009

    Oct 2, 2009
    323
    3
    36
    Student
    Los Angeles
    Here's a tip, even though you may have to do them manually, do it from your computer!

    Log into your Gmail account (the account that is now on your phone) via Google (on your computer) and head toward the contacts section. There you will be able to add all your contacts in, and they will then sync to your Evo.
     
  15. 737tdi

    737tdi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    Thanks, I think this will make it a little less painful. One question, when I enter the contact name do I simply type the phone no.? I.E. Airport 1112223333 or do I need to space the name and no.? The first no. is the sprint store and it seems to have several spaces between the contact name and no.
     
  16. zandroid

    zandroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009

    Oct 2, 2009
    323
    3
    36
    Student
    Los Angeles
    Mine looks like this:
    Name was added on the top, then I went in to add the number.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. 737tdi

    737tdi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    11
    0
    35
    Thanks a bunch. I was hitting the wrong "add contact" button at the top instead of "new contact at the left". That was alot quicker then trying to do it through the phone. I'm a little behind the tech. curve but am catching up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...