1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Accepted firmware update, now my phone is locked up.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RyanZ, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. RyanZ

    RyanZ Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    10
    2
    16
    I accepted the firmware update about 90 minutes ago and my phone is still locked up. All I have on the screen is the droid with a caution sign. Pulling and reinserting the battery just results in a normal bootup and then powering off after a few seconds...and back to the droid and caution sign.

    I am rooted and have ClockworkMod Recovery installed, but have no idea how to use them to fix my phone (I just followed good instructions very carefully when rooting).

    Thanks in advance for any help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    SeekerOfTheWay likes this.
  3. Cockadoo

    Cockadoo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011

    Jul 16, 2011
    12
    2
    16
    You rooted the phone and it seems like now the update has your phone up in all kinds of trouble. Rooted and wanting all the updates from verizon and want all to go smooth. What don't you want? You kept pushing and it kept bending until it broke. Now you want help on fixing? You want want want.
     
  4. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    This is one of the reasons why rooting isn't for everyone. You have to read a lot (well in this case just a little thread title) to know what you should be doing with a rooted phone...
     
  5. RyanZ

    RyanZ Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    10
    2
    16
    I had my Incredible rooted as well without issues. I apologize for not being a consistent reader of these forums to have seen a thread posted four days ago. Please let me know approximately when everyone will stop chastising me and actually start helping...or if I should just go elsewhere.

    Note: This is to the last two posters. SolidOrange at least pointed me at something I hadn't seen. The followers are just echoes.
     
    SeekerOfTheWay and SolidOrange like this.
  6. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Can you get into hboot? Power on while pressing down. If you can you should then be able to get to clockwork recovery and flash a rom which should fix this.

    You may need to take out your SD card and delete the PG05IMG.zip file from it as that would be the firmware update that is causing the issues.
     
    SeekerOfTheWay and RyanZ like this.
  7. RyanZ

    RyanZ Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    10
    2
    16
    Yup...I can get to Clockwork Recovery. I just needed to know what to do with it. Thanks!
     
  8. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    If you have any backups then restore, if not then download a rom, wipe and flash and you should be back up and running.
     
    SeekerOfTheWay likes this.
  9. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    Wonder if it is better to flash a rooted radio first, then flash a ROM?
     
  10. RyanZ

    RyanZ Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    10
    2
    16
    I flashed the ROM and radio from here without a wipe and my phone was still powering down after a few seconds. Finally, I just did a factory reset. I lost a lot, but at least I'm back up and running. Thanks for the help.
     
  11. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    You might want to go ahead and go to an aftermarket ROM. The gingerbread release is right around the corner, and that ROM might want you to take it. The aftermarket ROMs will not (at least the should not, lol). Plus, they are spiffy and all the cool kids are doing it.

    FWIW, I have done probably 10 factory resets in the last 10 days as I settle on a ROM to use. Giving scotty a run for his money as a ROM whore.
     
    SeekerOfTheWay likes this.
  12. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Agreed, it would be beneficial for you to flash a custom rom, that way you are not pestered to update it. Once the GB OTA hits it will be available as a custom rom and you could flash it if you wanted to see what stock is like.
     
    SeekerOfTheWay likes this.
  13. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    first and foremost,my obligatory "you should have known better" lecture. sorry im too tired to type it all again,however :p
    please be aware that info is everywhere about this... with 3 or 4 threads on the first page of the root forum alone. im not quite sure why you posted this in general. if you are rooted and wish to stay that way,you might want to start frequenting that section,even if you dont have any interest in flasheing a bunch of custom roms.heres a hint: start with the stickys ;)

    your issue could have been easily remedied by:
    1)not taking the update,obviously ;)
    2)having made a recent nandroid backup that you could have restored
    3)failing 1 or 2,that you had at least backed up your apps with a root program like titanium backup or mybackup pro.

    again,im no intending to pick on you,but you,and others reading this in a quest for info in the future,need to be aware how it could have been avoided.

    *second lecture over*

    i am glad your phone is back in working order.


    yes. it will. hopefully we dont have to tell you... DO NOT ACCEPT IT.

    whaaaa :eek:

    :D

    the worse thing about me is that i dont even do it cause im looking for the perfect rom(cm7 is it,lol) i just have ROM A.D.D. and like the fun of running/tryin different stuff. it will take you awhile to catch me,lol... ive got about 60 backups on my pc and ive not even backed up everything ive played with :eek:
     
    SeekerOfTheWay likes this.
  14. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Scotty your lecture is getting longer, it might be easier to link it in your sig at this rate by the end of the month it will be 4 quotes of you and then some.


    Again glad you got your phone back up and running RyanZ!
     
  15. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    I thot about that. My current Sig is barely legal. :eek: not nearly enuff room there for my lecture,lol :D
     
  16. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    It was RyanZ, not me, lol. Z's and stuff.
     
  17. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Fixed because I can't read apparently maybe I should stay off the forums when I am being paid to work...or not ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...