1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support "Account stopped!"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gerryex, Mar 19, 2016.

  1. gerryex

    gerryex Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    33
    11
    18
    Hi ALL,

    I have a plain Jane non-rooted Volt running under Virgin Mobile and its been working fine for more than a year. It is not on all of the time and I only turn it on when I'm out of the house. Lately when I turn it on I get a dark pop-up box that says (I'm not sure of the exact wording): "Unfortunately your account has stopped!" There's an OK button which I tap and then a little while later it happens again. It doesn't do it all the time when I turn it on but most of the time it does and when it does happen it always does it twice. But, other than that everything else seems to be working fine. I'm still getting my e-mails, and I seem to be able to access my Google account.

    So other than the annoyance factor it doesn't seem to be hurting anything. But like I said I never used to get this before. Anyone have any idea what's causing this?

    Gerry
     

    Advertisement

  2. aml1025

    aml1025 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #145
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    443
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013

    Jan 31, 2013
    443
    130
    98
    Twin Cities, MN
    Is it perhaps the Virgin Mobile My Account app?
     
  3. Curtis1973

    Curtis1973 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    2,189
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012

    Jul 1, 2012
    2,189
    1,664
    353
    Male
    Greenville,SC USA
    It's most likely your virgin mobile "My Account" application force closing. Go to settings,applications,all and scroll until you see the my account application. Then clear its data and reboot the phone. Then open the application and go to its settings and see if an update is available. If so update it. If not exit app and see if it continues to cause problems. If it does call customer support and they can walk you through troubleshooting the problem. Be sure to take note of the exact error pop up message you get when it occurs again. It can help in determining the problem.
     
    aml1025 likes this.
  4. gerryex

    gerryex Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    33
    11
    18
    Hi Curtis1973,

    Thanks for the suggestion and I went ahead and did it all the above. When I rebooted the "My Account" app did not show any updates available. Interestingly, when I turned the phone on today I did not get any of the pop-ups. EXTRA INTERESTINGLY, as I type this and the phone had just rebooted and I got the pop-up!! TWICE!! Here's the exact message:

    "Unfortunately, My Account has stopped. OK"

    I see now that its referring to the app "My Account" rather than one of my actual accounts. So right now its just an annoyance, but ultimately I will contact Virgin Mobile support.

    Do you have any other suggestion?

    Thanks again,
    Gerry
     
    Curtis1973 likes this.
  5. Curtis1973

    Curtis1973 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    2,189
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012

    Jul 1, 2012
    2,189
    1,664
    353
    Male
    Greenville,SC USA
    If you were rooted you could just delete the app. But seeing as that you are not. I also suggest seeing if the app has already installed an update. You can tell in settings,apps if it has been updated recently. If it was then that could be the issue also. A buggy update. Just uninstall the update and it will revert to stock my account. after that go in to the apps setttings and turn off auto updates. if that doesn't resolve it. just disable the app. it isnt really critical to anything.
     
  6. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    Probably won't be able to disable that one. A bad update seems like a likely culprit.
     
    Curtis1973 likes this.
  7. mikeca

    mikeca Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #244
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011

    Jul 4, 2011
    350
    34
    53
    Yes, this has been going on for a couple months, it is just an annoyance. It is happening on both our virgin phones but it is inconsistent.
     
  8. gerryex

    gerryex Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    33
    11
    18
    Hi Curtis1973,

    Well . . . I uninstalled the updates and indeed it said that the factory version will be installed. Goody!! But then I went back into the app settings and there was no place to turn off updates and then I used the app to get to my account info and I could see a downloading notification. When I looked at the notification it said it was updating My Account. Phooey!! And lastly, the Disable App button for this app is grayed out! Since I bought this phone from Virgin Mobile, I kind of figured you couldn't disable their app.

    So I think the bug is here to stay until VM gets around to fixing it. But as long as I now know its just this app stopping and not one of my actual accounts it will remain just an annoyance!!

    Thanks again for all your help!!
    Gerry
     
    Curtis1973 likes this.
  9. Curtis1973

    Curtis1973 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    2,189
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012

    Jul 1, 2012
    2,189
    1,664
    353
    Male
    Greenville,SC USA
    Root your devuce,flash custom recovery,flash custom rom and be free of all that crap. You really have no idea what you are missing.
     
  10. gerryex

    gerryex Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    33
    11
    18
    Hi Curtis1973,

    I'm sure you're right and I'm fairly knowledgeable about PCs and tech stuff but . . . I'm also lazy and other than this latest bug, the stock software has been performing fine and does everything I need it to do. I am kind of disappointed that its frozen at Kit Kat and has already missed out on Lollipop and Marshmallow so maybe some day I'll root it. But for now I'm just going to leave it alone.

    Thanks again for all your help!
    Gerry
     
    Curtis1973 likes this.
  11. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    You could root and just delete the My Account app, keeping the stock software otherwise intact.
    Actually, just integrating the update into the system might fix the glitch too.
     
  12. wardnkathy

    wardnkathy Member
    Rank:
     #432
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    64
    20
    28
    I also have a Virgin Mobile LG Volt that is not rooted and on stock. I don't know why but shortly after getting the phone the My Account app disappeared. I know I did not uninstall it and don't think I could have if I tried. I never found a way to get it back but since I never used it I never worried about it.
     
  13. gerryex

    gerryex Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    33
    11
    18
    I guess I could do that but frankly it seems to be doing it less than before so I'm not sure its even worth the effort. So for now I'm just going to leave it alone.

    But again I thank everyone's comments which led me to determine that its just VM's crappy app that was stopping and had nothing to do with any of my actual accounts.

    Thanks again,
    Gerry
     
  14. chickdr

    chickdr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 4, 2012

    May 4, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    Mine has been doing the same thing lately Glad to know it isn't just my phone and likely system wide.
     
  15. gerryex

    gerryex Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    33
    11
    18
    Actually, mine has not been doing it for quite a while and I started this thread. I did notice a couple of times since I started this thread that the app was updated so perhaps they corrected the problem.

    Gerry
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...