• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Accuweather Location Update

yabadaba

Apr 15, 2010
Hi Guys, I'm pretty new to the S2 so here's a quick question for you..

Is the Accuweather widget on the home screen supposed to update location automatically? Mine doesn't and I have to get it to manually search for the current location whenever I move around. The weather app on my HTC Desire home screen used to auto update location.

Have you got gps turned on
No, "Use GPS satellites" is switched off, but "Use wireless networks" is on so I thought it would use that. When I force it to update, via "Add city" and then click on the location search button it finds where I am correctly, so I thought that it would use that functionality to auto update.

NB: Didn't have to use GPS for my HTC Desire to auto update location on its weather app....probably not as accurate, but it did find roughly where I was.

Upvote 0
I found the same problem, it sticks with whatever the first city that it found and doesn't change no matter how many times you refresh, remove widget and re-add. Other weather apps are able to find your location without needing gps turned on so that isn't the problem. I've stopped using it and have gone back to the weatherbug.

No, "Use GPS satellites" is switched off, but "Use wireless networks" is on so I thought it would use that. When I force it to update, via "Add city" and then click on the location search button it finds where I am correctly, so I thought that it would use that functionality to auto update.

NB: Didn't have to use GPS for my HTC Desire to auto update location on its weather app....probably not as accurate, but it did find roughly where I was.

Upvote 0
just to double check, u can manually change, right? for example, u have a couple of cities u visit regularly, u have those added.. is it easy to swap between them, manually?