1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Acer A500 WiFi Problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ls_poh, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. ls_poh

    ls_poh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011

    Aug 10, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I am using Nokia N8-00 handset with JoikuSpot Premium installed as personal hotspot for personal use, but unfortunately, the recent purchased Acer A500 tab cannot detect the WiFi by the N8-00, anyone can help??
    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mplevy

    mplevy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    862
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    862
    135
    123
    New York, USA
    Likely not without rooting. The stock kernel on the A500 doesn't support ad-hoc wifi connections, you would need to root to replace the kernel with one that does. Unless you know the Nokia broadcasts an infrastructure type network, then you have a different issue.
     
  3. ls_poh

    ls_poh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011

    Aug 10, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Thank you for your reply.
    I am new to android device, how to root it? any risk when root it? If facing problem, how to settle it? Please advise....
     
  4. mplevy

    mplevy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    862
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    862
    135
    123
    New York, USA
  5. ls_poh

    ls_poh Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011

    Aug 10, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Thank you for your reply.

    I had rooted my Acer A500, but it still cannot detect the WiFi by the N8-00 with is ad-hoc wifi connection as mentioned by you.

    Please help me....

    What to do next when I had rooted Acer A500?

    Any Apps recommended to install??
     
  6. mplevy

    mplevy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    862
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    862
    135
    123
    New York, USA
    you'll need to read that section I linked before. As I said in my first post, root isn't all you need, you also need to replace the kernel. I haven't done that, I just understand how the tablet functions...
     
  7. Charlesleonard

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    67
    9
    36
    Have you tried doing a reset? Not a factory reset just try using the reset on the side near the USB port. Every time my wifi has acted up doing that has solved the problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...