1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Acer Iconia A500 cannot connect to routers

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by oscarsantos, Jul 11, 2011.

  1. oscarsantos

    oscarsantos Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    Hi, glad to be a member of this forum.

    I would like to bring to the attention of the android developers that their upgrade V3.1 has a bug.

    Last Saturday, I downloaded an offer of upgrade to V3.1.

    The next thing I realized, I can not connect to my home wifi router. I tested bringing my Tab to other wifi spots and I can not connect to all of them.

    I got information from the web that this is cause by the V3.1 and a simple factory reset will correct the bug.

    I will not do this simple suggestion because I bought so many apps already. Resetting the tab will erase all the downloaded apps. I repeat, I BOUGHT many, not free, apps already.

    Anyone got any idea about this recent issue?

    Please help. Android developers please review your software. May I suggest that you find & correct the fault and release a patch for this in the web.
     

    Advertisement

  2. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Hi oscarsantos, and welcome to AF.

    All app purchases are tied to your Google account, so you'll be able to download them again at no cost to you by using the same account you initially signed on with.
     
  3. oscarsantos

    oscarsantos Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    Oh thats good to hear. Are you suggesting I go ahead with total factory reset? Ok, that, I think is what you mean with your good news. I am not really clear on how to recover my apps purchases though I know I received confirmations of my purchases in google account. But I will go ahead with the factory reset and deal with apps recovery afterwards, I am confident that you can help me in case I will encounter problems.
     
  4. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Yes, go ahead with the factory reset and when you're going through the start up process, sign in with the same gmail account you used before.

    When you go to the Androind market for the first time, all your paid apps will show up under "my apps" from the menu setting as "purchased" and you'll be able to download them again at no cost. If you have other apps that aren't paid apps, they may or may not show up and you'll have to search for them again.
     
  5. oscarsantos

    oscarsantos Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    I just activated the factory reset. Its been almost 3 minutes after the image of an android robot appeared with rolling gears and afterwards the android logo appeared and then nothing for almost 3 minutes as of this typing. Is this normal? How long will this nothingness continue, what should I expect?
     
  6. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Give it a while, it should start-up
     
  7. oscarsantos

    oscarsantos Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    5
    0
    25
    shawn, everythings fine now. My thank you to your assistance. Just a feedback of my experience. That nothingness was a hang. I put the unit off then on again and everything run smoothly after that. You are right that my paid apps were in my apps though not all of them, can't understand why. Now I will try to recover those by my google mail confirmations. Thanks once again.
     
  8. splatoid

    splatoid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    630
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    630
    83
    78
    Repair Technician for Grocery stores Auto meat wra
    Washington State
    Also another user on this forum found that if you press the small reset bottom and do it twice it will restore your wifi.Sounds like it works.
     

Share This Page

Loading...