1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [ACS] [HOW TO] Root, Unroot, Flash Roms/Kernels/Themes, and CWM! (7 videos) 10/19/11

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by qbking77, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. qbking77

    qbking77 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    151
    93
    53
    Illinois
    Hey everyone! I have recently obtained an EVO Shift and will be making lots of how to videos for it! I do see there are a lot of written guides, but no videos. I did make many how to videos for the Samsung Epic and I got such a wonderful response from everyone, I figured I would expand to different devices.

    Please post suggestions to future videos in this thread, or PM me!

    I will be posting more how to videos very soon :D

    How to root the HTC EVO Shift 4G On Android 2.2:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ipleIgGrqns

    How to unroot the HTC EVO Shift 4G to stock Android 2.2:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wHyPdkDbBo8

    How to update radios on the HTC EVO Shift 4G in the bootloader:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-K20tGEKUB4

    How to flash the MIUI 1.9.2 Rom on the HTC EVO Shift and review:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ghj9yeco2K8

    How to update the HTC EVO Shift to Android 2.3.3 Gingerbread:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fv4wy9ltfyw

    How to flash the Supreme Sense Rom on the HTC EVO Shift 4G:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZL6gjX5dkNg

    How to root and clockworkmod HTC EVO Shift 4G on Gingerbread 2.3:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mcp2x7poHdw


    Youtube Channel:
    www.youtube.com/qbking77
     

    Advertisement

    crump likes this.
  2. crump

    crump Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    248
    101
    68
    Alabama
    This guide looks strongly familiar ;) I take it even though the user name is different this is the same person from xda... Nice work... Again :D
     
    qbking77 likes this.
  3. Eatyourowntaco

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    Will this work with Win7 64 bit?
     
  4. barberboy

    barberboy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    103
    5
    36
    earth
    Ok so I FINALLY downgraded gb to froyo and achieved s off and perm root now I'm trying to flash cm 7 and to my avail no luck wth??? I also had trouble
    (and still didnt achieve) to flash the gb rom and update dam error msg's (installation aborted) after trying to flash cm7 in recovery I managed to get a error msg that stayed on the screen long enough for me to jot down:
    E: Error in /sdcard/update-cm-7.1.0-RC1-CLIQ-signed.zip
    (status 7)
    Installation Aborted
     
  5. crump

    crump Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    248
    101
    68
    Alabama
    Congrats on root!

    I think your problem is your using an old recovery... I'm assuming your using ClockworkMod,

    what version # are you on?

    If your on anything below 3.xxx you need to update your recovery. You can use ROM manager to flash CWM 5.xx or you can flash twrp http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1291643
     
    barberboy likes this.
  6. barberboy

    barberboy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    103
    5
    36
    earth
    Im using ClockworkMod version 5.0.2.0 to use the twrp I would place the zip to my sdcard and try to flash the same way I did cm7?
     
  7. crump

    crump Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    248
    101
    68
    Alabama
    I didn't notice this but in your previous post your getting error 7 because your not flash cm for speedy. Or according to the error you posted, your trying to flash cm for the cliq?
    Make sure your using the cyanogenmod 7 for speedy... if your on clockwork 5 you should be fine. Just do a full wipe, dalvik, cache and data then flash.

    If you're still having issues, send me a pm..
     
  8. barberboy

    barberboy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    103
    5
    36
    earth
    No I'm on the trusty EVO shift I saw a link to cm7 somewhere around here and tried it. I'm guessing I probably need to search the evo shift forum. I tried to. Dl cm7 thru the rom manager and I get a Rom error msg.
     
  9. crump

    crump Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    248
    101
    68
    Alabama
    Alright, here's the link to the latest stable. Just came out yesterday http://goo-inside.me/cm/speedy/stable/update-cm-7.1.0-Speedy-signed.zip

    Download that and pit it on your SD card. Manually boot into recovery, wipe dalvik, cache and data.. I usually do this couple tines just to be safe. Once you have wiped everything choose the zip you downloaded and flash. If you follow thatypu should be good.

    Sorry if this is all cluttered, it's a pain posting to this site from my phone.
     
    barberboy likes this.
  10. barberboy

    barberboy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    103
    5
    36
    earth
    O.G. Crump ur advice is the Shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii lol. Followed your instructions and managed to dl cm7 in recovery, my rom manager is trippy when i try to dl a rom thru it I get a msg that says ROM Error something about a mirror idk but in recovery it works so oh well for now, Is there a way to save the flashed roms somewhere where I can toggle between them?
     
  11. crump

    crump Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    248
    101
    68
    Alabama
    The reason you can't download through rom manager is because the site is down. As far saving ROMs ... make a backup now! Its in the recovery menu, its always a good idea to have a couple backups in case anything happens. I'm on my phone but Google search making backups with clockwork mod if you can't figure it out.

    Btw, glad you got everything working :)
     
  12. barberboy

    barberboy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    103
    5
    36
    earth
    Ok thanks man, I backed up my current ROM then flashed cm7. So let me get this straight back up each rom that I flash and I can toggle between any of them when I like? Also in recovery is where I do all the toggling correct? Oh Oh Oh one more bro. When you flash a rom you dont have acess to any of the apps you previously downloaded eh? Just asking because when I flashed cm7 none of my apps appeared where I had them hell I didnt (couldnt dind) the market app to attempt to dl any SMH I know still young at it still but I've came a long way!
     
  13. crump

    crump Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    248
    101
    68
    Alabama
    You need to flash gapps to have access to the market. They aren't built in to aosp ROMs.
    Here's the link for gapps goo-inside.me - gapps downloads download the universal ones at the top in blue, i. Think it 20110828, something like that. Just download and put on your sd, go into recovery and flash... No need to wipe anything.

    I'll help you out with backing up apps and explain nandrpid backups later when I'm on my pc. Too much to the from my phone.
     
  14. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Lots of solid advice here...

    Glad to hear you got it rooted, Barber... Took you long enough!!!!:p
     
    barberboy likes this.
  15. barberboy

    barberboy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    103
    5
    36
    earth
    I know rite lol I'm slow but I don't like quitin!
     
  16. qbking77

    qbking77 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    151
    93
    53
    Illinois
    OP updated!
     
  17. Jmelick07

    Jmelick07 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Is this method possible to do on a mac?
     

Share This Page

Loading...