1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Activating phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cepa, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. cepa

    cepa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    Hi

    I've had my X10i for a month now and have added several apps from the Marketplace. I am Orange in the UK and have also had the new shared settings for using the phone on the T-Mobile Network.

    Earlier I received some text messages and a missed call but was unable to drag the status bar down to check who they were from. I switched off phone and re-started but have found that the "Activating Phone" icon kicks in before I can complete my Sim lock number and press ok.
    The phone just wants to stay in the "Activating Phone" mode but doesn't start up properly.
    If I enter the pin correctly and press ok Very quickly I can start the phone ok.
    This has never happened before today.

    Any ideas please.
     

    Advertisement

  2. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    Try a repair with PC Companion.
     
  3. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,656
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,656
    230
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    Try the simple thing first, remove battery while phone is turned on, remove sim, wipe sim with a dry cloth, then re-insert sim and battery, and try again.

    If that doesn't work, you may have to do an update via SEUS
     
  4. cepa

    cepa Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    Thanks both - problem is temporarily resolved but I may have to do as you suggest if the problem comes back.

    I managed to enter sim lock quickly and then removed this from security and restarted. All was ok so I re-applied SIM lock and restarted again and the pin code screen seemed to be fine.

    Since installing ADW Launcher sometimes the status bar hides but moving screens activates again however over the last few days the status bar still seems to be inactive randomly and I can only get it active with a restart.

    So another 2 questions

    - is their a way of activating the status bar without a restart ?

    - how can I identify the last apps I downloaded (in date/time order) - so I can remove 1 by 1 to see if any are causing the status bar issue ?

    Thanks
     
  5. powerkiter

    powerkiter Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    859
    106
    93
    UK
    Go into the settings for ADW as there was an option to hide the status bar and as for the apps I think if you go to the market and then downloads I believe they are in the order that they was downloaded??
     
  6. X10iUser

    X10iUser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,328
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1,328
    332
    163
    This and that.
    Here
    ADW settings - Screen preferences - Hide statusbar

    Chances are it's user error here as what you describe about the status bar is normal. Open up ADW settings and have a play about with them, "swipe up" and "swipe down" for example, have you set them yet, did you even know you could set the action?
     

Share This Page

Loading...