1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root activating spectrum

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sharaa09, Jan 19, 2014.

  1. sharaa09

    sharaa09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    29
    2
    16
    Male
    india
    I am Kannan from India.I am trying to activate this phone here.It is on cm 10.1.3 and I am able to hear service provider's ivr but the dialler does not pop up to select the language option.If i downgrade to stock zv6, it says simcard required for activation eventhough have selected cdma/evdo auto.Gurus here help me to activate this phone.
    Thanks
    Kannan
     

    Advertisement

  2. Neph81

    Neph81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,401
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    1,401
    823
    213
    Male
    Wisconsin
    This phone does not properly support OTA activation for CDMA, as it was built to be LTE. A few people have had luck with online retailers that use CDMAWorkshop to manually program it.

    Please see these threads, which describe some of the issues that others have come across:
    http://androidforums.com/spectrum-all-things-root/701814-3g-last-but-one-question.html
    http://androidforums.com/lg-spectrum/683503-manual-programming-lg-spectrum.html
    http://androidforums.com/lg-spectrum/699939-help-guide-flashing-spectrum-pageplus.html
     
    sharaa09 and Rxpert83 like this.
  3. koki7710

    koki7710 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    47
    17
    18
    In the USA the LG Spectrum was made for Verizon ( maybe in India Verizon has a similar counterpart ) designed to be used with a sim card 4g LTE on Ruim / sim mode. I flashed it to Verizon prepaid pay as you go plan , and had to use Stock Icecream Rom to access programming ; then I flashed same Rom as you : Cyanogenmod 10.1.3 ( best stable Jellybean Rom ) and dialed *228 ( code to OTA programming in USA ) and just let it do the programming automatically, press on speaker and heard asking for choices 1 to activate or 2 to do a PRL . I did nothing and it picked choice # 1 ( activate ) after 2/3 minutes it said activation successful ( it was true , phone had a new phone # and a new PRL ) was able to do talk , txt and data 1Xrtt (156 kbps). I'm not sure but maybe if you replicate steps it might work also in India .
     
    sharaa09 and Neph81 like this.
  4. sharaa09

    sharaa09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    29
    2
    16
    Male
    india
    thanks for the reply.This phone was received as a gift from usa.There is no verizon in india.I already read your post about sucessful activation.Here you have to first select the language option to activate.So at the end of ivr I receive message that my phone could not be activated.Anyway thanks.I will revert back after activating somehow.
    Kannan
     
  5. koki7710

    koki7710 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    47
    17
    18
    Vodafone India it is partners with the US Verizon , maybe you should try to get a Vodafone 4g LTE sim card so the phone connects to proper networks , or use a local Vodafone India cellphone and use it as donor phone. This LG Spectrum are the easiest to program ( always in stock rom and you need DFS cdma tool (free demo) and the CDMA-WS 2.7 (free ,you have to find it ) . Anyway here's a link from XDA forums with same topic.. [Q] How can i change from verizon to a carrier in India? - xda-developers
     
    sharaa09 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...