1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root adb - device offline?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cashmere_cat, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. cashmere_cat

    cashmere_cat Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    240
    11
    38
    Western Canada
    I am trying to make a gold card, and am following the instructions / video on theunlockr How To Create a Goldcard | TheUnlockr) I've done the SDK and ADB parts and have gotten my serial number -- altho next to the serial number it says 'offline'. When i use the command adb shell - I get 'error: device offline'. What am I doing wrong here?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    its likely to be a driver issue
    follow our adb guide and the guides surrounding goldcard
     
  3. cashmere_cat

    cashmere_cat Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    240
    11
    38
    Western Canada
    Thanks.
    Not really sure what the problem was - rebooted a couple of times and goldcard a success! :)
    However, that was quite a process..... now i'm leary about rooting, if something as seemingly as 'easy' as making a gold card had me flustered.....
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,899
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,899
    12,877
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    As we always say, read the guides as many times as needed, and ask about whatever isn't clear. I'd say that rooting involves fewer steps than making a goldcard.
     
  5. cashmere_cat

    cashmere_cat Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    240
    11
    38
    Western Canada
    I have read and re-read all the guides and faq's. I think I am ready to do this. I know I certainly WANT to do this, as I am so fed up with the 'low on space' issues. So completely nonsensical to have over 6 g of space on the card, yet still be 'low on space'...

    So far I have:

    -read a ton
    -made a goldcard
    -moved all my apps off of the SD. This required uninstalling about 20 apps.
    -Connected phone to PC, and copied contents to a folder.
    -Downloaded Titanium backup, as it was my understanding to do a Ti backup before anything else -- but it tells me needs root first. There is really very little on my phone that I can't just reinstall if they get muddled up -- except that I would rather not lose my calendar contents as well as the data contained in 'Pocket' - a password keeper. I have everything in there, would be lost without it. Suggestion?
    - confirmed i have PVT3, Hboot 0.93.0001, that the phone is GSM, erase size is 20000, downloaded and uninstalled HTC sync for the drivers, d/l hboot drivers, on PC I have Android Bootloader Interface under Devices,....

    Am I missing anything?

    Once rooted, I dont need to do anything further just yet, right? I can use the phone as usual while i further investigate how to do the whole A2SD+ part. Tho from what I gather, I will need to find a new ROM first since the stock ROM will not support this. Flashing a new ROM sounds complex too....

    Sure appreciate all comments / feedback!!!
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,899
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,899
    12,877
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Checklist looks OK.

    I'm afraid you cannot use Ti Backup without root. However, rooting itself should not result in data loss (it's flashing a ROM where you need to take backups first).

    But if you want to be sure, see whether your key apps have an option to back up or export data to SD. If your calendar is not backed-up with Google I believe MyBackup can still back it up to SD without root, or you could even use HTC Sync if you have outlook. Don't know whether Pocket has a data-saving option, but if you are at all unsure a piece of paper will do as an interim. Once rooted you can use Titanium to back that up, and as I say there should be no data loss from rooting, but it's probably worth taking a precaution with anything critical, just on the off chance that something goes wrong.

    All that rooting itself will do is give you the option to run apps with root permissions (i.e. as superuser). Unrevoked will also install a custom recovery, which will let you take full system backups and install ROMs. But apart from these extra capabilities, the phone will be unchanged - you can carry on using it as normal. The benefits of rooting come from what you do with these extra capabilities.
     
  7. cashmere_cat

    cashmere_cat Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    240
    11
    38
    Western Canada
    Sounds good. I found the option you referred to for 'Pocket', and exported the info to my PC. I think I'm almost ready....

    What is the difference between the unrevoked link in the rooting guide... and using revolutionary.io ?
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,899
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,899
    12,877
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Revolutionary does more than root (will give S-Off as well), but it's also still in beta.
     
  9. cashmere_cat

    cashmere_cat Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    240
    11
    38
    Western Canada
    So given that I am fairly new to all of this, you recommend I do not use the revolutionary.io?
     
  10. Flumme

    Flumme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #473
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    335
    88
    53
    Sweden
    If you feel insecure, I'd recommend using unrevoked, as it's very stable. Any program still in Beta may still have some random wierdness built into it.

    S-off and the like is still an option for you if you use unrevoked. You just need to do it seperately.

    And any problem you might run in to in the process forces you to reread the guides and faq's, and thereby learn even more about what you're doing and why. :)
     
  11. cashmere_cat

    cashmere_cat Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    240
    11
    38
    Western Canada
    Thank you! I used unrevoked and it worked! I'm ecstatic :)
    Now... I think the next step is S-off??
     
  12. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    no the next time is finding a rom you want and playing with it.
    s-of is only needed for advanced features
     
  13. Flumme

    Flumme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #473
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    335
    88
    53
    Sweden
    And as always before flashing anything new and exotic: go into recovery and preform a nandroid backup!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...