1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

ADB For S4, DPI change issue

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by pickstarr, Mar 5, 2016.

  1. pickstarr

    pickstarr Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hello. I recently messed up my phone, and to fix it, I need to get ADB debugging on it. However, I forgot to turn it on before I did that... is there anyway to install ADB onto my Galaxy S4 so I can fix the issue? Thanks.
     


  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator

    I'm guessing that normal Android will not boot up?

    If that's the case and you don't have the ability to boot into a custom recovery and use adb from there, then I'm afraid you might be stuck :(.

    By the way, it's not really a case of installing adb--it is rather a setting indicating if you want your device to have adb access on or off.
     
  3. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert

    What did you to your phone exactly? Also as far as recovery from a bootloop or soft brick adb doesn't do much for Samsung devices.... What you want is odin or kies, neither of which need adb to be on.
     
    #3 Blu8, Mar 5, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2016
    Jfalls63 and scary alien like this.
  4. pickstarr

    pickstarr Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I changed the resolution and now my phone is messed up. A few messages won't stop popping up. I'll try those out if I can't find out anything
     
  5. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert

    So you changed resolution (not sure how that's done) or DPI? The two are different and DPI changes can be undone, not sure what you did exactly though.
     
  6. pickstarr

    pickstarr Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Another thing. A lot of the tutorials I am reading say something about editting build.prop in /system, however, I can't find anything of that sort on my Android S4? I am on a Windows 8 laptop and I'm trying to fix my resolution problem. Where is build.prop and where is /system?
     
  7. pickstarr

    pickstarr Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I changed resolution and I think DPI... how come DPI can't be undone?
     
  8. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert

    Don't know about resolution and sorry if I wasn't clear, I meant to say yes, undoing dpi change is definitely doable. You'd have to edit a line in your build.prop, I believe it's ro.lcd.density=yourdpi
     
    scary alien likes this.
  9. pickstarr

    pickstarr Newbie
    Thread Starter

    How do I get to my build.prop? Please, this is the last thing I need I believe
     
  10. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert

    You can use a file explorer if you're rooted (and you are if you did all that, right?) And navigate to /system and it's the only file in that directory, everything else is folders. Alternatively you can download Kernel Adiutor and grant it root access, open the hamburger menu at the top left, scroll down to tools and tap on build.prop editor and use the magnifying glass at the top right and type in "LCD" and change the value from there.
     
  11. pickstarr

    pickstarr Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I am rooted, but I can't use my phone to get to the app store or anything. How do I get there through PC?
     
  12. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert

    You can always sign into the play store on your PC and install the app from there, it should download to your phone and then you can use it. As far as using your PC to change your DPI, since you have debugging off you can't use adb and I'm not sure of any other method with PC that doesn't require that to be on. Very off topic question, do you have a custom recovery installed?
     
  13. pickstarr

    pickstarr Newbie
    Thread Starter

    I have USB Debugging, if that makes for any consultation. I don't think I have custom recovery on. Any way to check from PC?
     
  14. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert

  15. pickstarr

    pickstarr Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Yes, in developer options, I have USB debugging on
     
  16. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert

    Alright then that should let you change your DPI with your PC.
     
  17. pickstarr

    pickstarr Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Thank you so much... trying that guide out now, really hop it works... I missed so much in my favorite games lol
     
  18. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert

    Man I know what that's like, hope it works out.
     
  19. pickstarr

    pickstarr Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hey man, I did everything, but it still says I have something wrong, and my DPI didn't change. Do you have Skype? I think you can help me.
     
  20. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator

    Sadly, if you don't know where the "system" is.. Then you shouldn't even be trying to modify anything within it.
     
    mikedt, bkttk2 and svim like this.
  21. mikedt

    mikedt 你好

    Yeh, read up and educate yourself first, before you go bricking your phone. Our S4, All Things Root forum is probably a good place to start. :)

    If it's a problem with a particular app or game not displaying properly, would be better to email the developers about it, get them to fix their stuff.
     
    #21 mikedt, Mar 6, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2016
  22. pickstarr

    pickstarr Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Hello. I changed the DPI on my device and screwed everything up, and I'm trying to fix it. I don't have access to my device, so I have to do it over PC. I don't have access to it because the same 3 messages pop up every time. Anyways, when I try to change the DPI from my computer (adb shell wm density 480) this message pops up - error: device unauthorized.
    This adbd's $ADB_VENDOR_KEYS is not set; try 'adb kill-servers' if something seems wrong.
    Otherwise, check for a conformation dialog on your device.
    Can anyone tell me what this means? Is there a fix? Nothing pops up on my device.
     
  23. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator

    @pickstarr, I've merged your threads regarding this issue.

    Cheers!
     
    pickstarr likes this.
  24. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Close the command prompt window and open a new one. Type:
    adb devices

    At this time, watch your phone's screen. If it's not already on, bump the power button to turn it on. You should get a pop-up that allows the connection. Tick the little checkbox to "always allow", then press OK.

    Then rerun the DPI command in a root shell. I.E. adb shell command and make sure you have a # prompt. If not, type su to get one (root shell), then repeat the DPI command at that point.
     
    #24 iowabowtech, Mar 6, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2016
    scary alien likes this.
  25. pickstarr

    pickstarr Newbie
    Thread Starter

    Thank you so much... but now, there's another problem. Man, they just keep coming on... So, when I type "adb devices" into my cmd, it just comes back with this - "'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file. Is there a fix for this or am I just doing something wrong?

    Edit: When I run it with Minimal ADB & Fastboot, it detects my device (hooray!) but, it says that it is unauthorized... any solution?

    Edit: I installed something, it detects my device (another yay) but, it says it is offline... any solutions?
     
    #25 pickstarr, Mar 6, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2016
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...