1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ADB Issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bumpylemon, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    im on windows 7. that adb process is what wont work. it says everything is updated to the latest drivers. then when i run the cmd prompts for adb i get

    "adb is not recognized blah blah"

    what do i do now


    also when i try to browse and click on the folder i get
    "best driver for this device is already installed"
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. ad720

    ad720 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    260
    14
    38
    Did you try restarting after installing the drivers?
     
  3. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    i didnt have to install anything. thats my point. i plug my phone in and it doesnt install any drivers. then when i click to update drivers i then try and use that files provided and it says my current drivers are up to date
     
  4. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
  5. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    I had to install the Motorola drivers to get ADB working in PC Mode. Get them here:

    Motorola DROID X - Motorola USA

    To the left, where it says USB + PC Charging Drivers.

    Good luck!
     
    bumpylemon likes this.
  6. pman219

    pman219 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    220
    52
    53
    Project Manager
    Rochester, NY
    Type the following into the command prompt window cd\
    cd AndroidSDK\tools\
    adb devices
    You should see a serial number pop up, it
     
    bumpylemon likes this.
  7. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    so after installing them what step did you start at?


    edit: ok i installed them and then tried running cmd then adb services...got same thing,,,,and i went to device manager and still getting the same drivers up to date
     
  8. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    based on the video i posted i get a seriel number stating i have adb installed and a device listed....sooooooo?
     
  9. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    i still get abd is not recognized as an internal or external command
     
  10. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    So you should be set to go. Just run all your adb commands out of your /tools/ folder.

    That means you need to unzip the DX root files into that folder too.


    If you really want to set up a good ADB environment though, I would add your tools directory to your PATH, so you can call upon adb from any directory.
     
  11. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    haha if i only knew what all that means. this is my first time doing this...i was a crapberry man.
     
  12. mortymouse

    mortymouse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    246
    24
    38
    That is the key. You need to run the commands out of the TOOLS folder in the androidsdk folder. This is the same folder that you need to put the files from the zip file in.
     
    bumpylemon likes this.
  13. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    yup just got that...off i go.:D
     
  14. mortymouse

    mortymouse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    246
    24
    38
    OK, so now that you have everything installed it is very simple. Just follow this:

    Start the CMD command from Windows 7. I assume you know how to do this sicne you have been using it so far.

    You should see something like C:/users/XXXXXX<----whatever your anem or cpu name is)

    Type CD..

    Then Type CD.. again

    That will get you to a C:

    From there:

    Type cd androidsdk (or whatever the folder is named that you put the android sdk in)

    From there:

    Type cd tools

    Now your command prompt will look something like this:

    C:\androidsdk\tools

    It is from this location that you will start with the instructions.
     
    sjones765 and bumpylemon like this.
  15. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    now i get exploid not found..
     

    Attached Files:

  16. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    says no such file or directory
     
  17. doctajay

    doctajay Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    135
    29
    43
    Exactly this is a VERY IMMPORTANT STEP. I had to do this before my windows 7 box would see my phone under the adb devices command.
     
  18. mortymouse

    mortymouse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    246
    24
    38
    When you downloaded the zip folder (DroidXRoot) for the root, did you unzip the contents into the androidsdk/tools directory? If not, do that right now and try again and you will be golden.

    So you take the DroidXRoot.zip file and unzip it. Inside are the following 4 files:

    exploid
    exploid_c
    su
    Superuser.apk

    Drag the first two files and put them in your androidsdk/tools folder

    then follow the rest of the instructions:
     
  19. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    yeah i did....and when i go in that folder i see the exploid file.
     
  20. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    here is a screenshot of the folder
     

    Attached Files:

  21. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    looks like the problem started with the chmod 755 exploid cmd
     
  22. drhill

    drhill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    762
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    762
    186
    103
    you don't need to run from your tools direction. You just need to set your tools direction in your windows path variable.
     
  23. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    since i cant go any further did i just screw up my phone? can i start it over?
     
  24. mortymouse

    mortymouse Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    246
    24
    38
    OK, I had this issue this morning and I think it was the way the directions were written. Its fine to start over so no worries at all here.

    OK, so now that you know the files are in the androidsdk/tools dir we should be good.

    Open up the cmd propt again and get yourself to the androidsdk/tools directory again. Once there, confirm your phone is connected by typing in adb devices. You should see your phone attached identified by a string of numbers. Once you know that the phone is showing then type the following:
    (make sure you are in the android/tools directory then:

    Step 1: type: adb push exploid /sqlite_stmt_journals
    Step 2: type: adb shell
    Step 3: type: cd sqlite_stmt_journals
    Step 4: type: chmod 755 exploid
    Step 5: type: ./exploid
    Step 6: type: rootshell
    Step 7: type in password secretlol
    Step 8: Your should be in root
    Step 9: Mount your sdcard to pc and put Superuser.apk and su in the sdcard
    Step 10: unmount sdcard
    Step 11: Go back to cmd prompt (if you have not left you can start right from where you are. (Make sure you can see the # sign)
    Step 11: type: cp /sdcard/Superuser.apk /system/app/Superuser.apk
    Step 12: type: cp /sdcard/su /system/bin/su
    Step 12: type: chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
     
  25. bumpylemon

    bumpylemon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    142
    1
    56
    troubleshooting...
     

Share This Page

Loading...