1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root adb remount

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jaffa, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Hi

    Im trying to enable the eclair lockscreen on Villain 10.3.2 , from a prompt

    cd\

    cd androidSDK\tools

    adb remount

    Then nothing the cursor moves down a line but stops me entering anymore comands, any idea's?

    Thanks in advance :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Try

    adb devices (should return the device ID if successful)

    before the remount command. Sometimes the daemon process needs a wake-up call. ;)
     
  3. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    devices works fine, remount wont work :-(, really want this lock screen too
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I can confirm that it's not an issue with the 2.1 base ROM, as I've just managed an adb remount here.
     
  5. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Resolved it thanks, it just worked the next time I plugged in
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Don't you just hate it when it does that? :rolleyes:

    Glad you're sorted. Let us know how you get on with replacing the lock screen.
     
  7. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Worked a treat, renamed the apk and it defaulted to the new one :) I always disliked that big black bar, this is much nicer
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...