1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

adb trouble with rooting my phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by edivens, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    I'm trying to root my HTC sprint hero 2.1 and I have gotten to step #9 .2 and when I copy and paste adb devices I get 'adb' is not a recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file. Can anyone help me with this problem so I and move forward and get out of 2.1 hell
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Moving to sprint hero section.

    Can you provide a link with which method you are using?


    Do you have USB Debugging enabled?
     
  3. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    I did debug the phone and I used Sticky: Sprint HTC Hero Rooting Guide: Updated 7:10pm EST, Aug 30. 2010 for 2.1
     
  4. uminchu

    uminchu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    525
    134
    93
    If you're using Windows, when you open the command line, you want your first entry to be an old DOS command that will get you into the Android SDK tools folder. Locate where the Android SDK is stored on your hard drive. The tools folder is a subfolder of the SDK. For example, on my PC, my first command line entry would read:

    cd c:\android-sdk-windows\tools

    Your PC should respond by returning the path to the SDK, followed by the blinking underscore cursor. Once you're in the tools folder, the copy/pasted adb syntax will be recognized as valid commands.
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I thought you mentioned you were using Z4Root one click method ??


     
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I read on your other post in the other thread that you were still on .7. If I remember correctly, if you are using the regaw rooting method, you will have to revert back to .5 to use his rooting method;)
     
  7. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    I tried it and its not working
     
  8. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    How do I go back to .5 ?
     
  9. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    I did try that method but the screen just stayed blue and froze up
     
  10. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Got, that program is suppose to work on the .7 build from what I read, go to about phone and let us know what your software version is ?? we will go from there


     
  11. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Here is a C&P about the Z4Root being able to root the .7 build


    C&P

    Hey All You Sprint HTC Hero Users Who Have Not Been Able To Root Your Hero With The Latest .7 Sprint Update, Go to App Brain And Down Load Z4 ROOT. I Have Been Looking For A Root That Works For 6 Months, I Rooted My Hero in 5 Minutes With Superuser Access, Then Downloaded Root Explorer (File Manager) And Finally Got Rid Of All Those Useless Factory Apps I Dont Need, Deleted Them All. HTC HERO USERS FINALLY A ROOT IS HERE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  13. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Wherever that's from, root had been found long before z4, lol:p
     
  14. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
  15. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I know but it apparently works on the .7 build, LOL that was my point, LOL


     
  16. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Try it again, some had to reboot after the first try and do it again

    C&P
    Works on Phone! (Mine froze and required a reboot after the first try, but worked like a charm the 2nd go round)

     
    edivens likes this.
  17. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    the software # 2.31.651.7 thanks
     
  18. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Try again with the Z4Root, and report back


     
  19. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    I trying again with the Z4Root, when I push the root button it goes to the blue screen and tell me Please wait while root completes and your devices is rebooted. Its been on this screen for 5 min. Do I need to keep waiting or is it not working?
     
  20. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Wait 5 mins - then pull battery and reboot - it usually does the job - sometimes Hangs though.
     
  21. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    I did that, how can I tell if my phone is rooted? before I go through the process of put a custom rom on my phone is there a way to know if i rooted it first?
     
  22. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,934
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,934
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Do you have the Super user Icon in your App Drawer -

    you can also download Terminal Emulator from the market -
    open is and type - su hit enter - if it says permission denied you are not rooted.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...