1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root adb ??????????????

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ducky1979, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    hiya, my mate rooted the other day but hes told me whilst he was running unrevoked he had to install adb something or other, im also on vista and am just worried i may need to install these extra files, can anyone shed some light on this, maybe Mandy or Susan!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,679
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,679
    315
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Carefull, weekends only.

    Yes you'll need android drivers, the unlocker.com have video's about it.
     
  3. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    is this not the one where you plug the phone into the pc and go to device manager and install the driver so pc sees phone as android interface device??? coz ive already done that. :)
     
  4. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,679
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,679
    315
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    If I remember correctly that's all the drivers you need. Uninstall HTC sync, and check the driver is still there. Your ready to go.

    Advice: Don't faff around for to long, you'll never do it.
     
  5. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    im not faffing!!! lol, im just very anal about these things, to be honest im shitting it in case i brick it, cant afford to replace it. but to be fair my mate is shite with computers and tech stuff and he did it all ok.
    so im good to go then you reckon, gonna go with cyanogen i reckon, had a play with it earlier, seems pretty cool, the only thing i didnt like was how the home screen rotates with screen orientation, but im sure there is a setting somewhere to lock the home screens.
    all being well tulula will be rooted by monday!!!!!!!!! :D
     
  6. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,679
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,679
    315
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Yep there's a setting for it. I doubt very much that not having all the drivers will break your phone. Mandy was very scared too the first time, but Susan was here to comfort her.

    (I think I need a lie down).
     
  7. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    cool, cheers guys and gals, i'll see you on the other side!!!
     
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    you wont brick your device rooting it.
    make sure you make a gold card before you do it as you can use a pbimg to restore it if all fails
    if it failed on a driver issue it just wont complete root and device will boot to a normal state

    youll be fine
     
  9. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    ive actually rooted now but still not the gold card, can anyone provide a link to how this is done?
    cheers!
     
  10. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,679
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,679
    315
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Rastaman be back on the block, (after a short mysterious absence) with new scary Avatar!
     
  11. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    check the goldcard tool on faq page, last page i updated the link
    you can do this with any rom as long as its bootable


    hi hat-infernalbyte-stand

    things are not pretty for me at the moment for reasons you know of, im restricting myself from accessing the forums for evenings and weekends only for a while
     
  12. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,679
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,679
    315
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Actually I have no idea what's going on, but is good to see you back, (personaly I thought you'd gone an bought a Nokia).
     
  13. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    cheers, ive got the goldcard tool, ill do it 2moro, see you all.
     
  14. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    ahh no worries, its best it stays that way for now :p

    nah im desire for at least another year
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Me too. Doesn't bother me at all. Love my bravo
     
  16. GrenW

    GrenW Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    799
    130
    93
    UK
    Likewise.....got no choice really unless I shell out some serious cash.....nothing substantially better out there yet anyway.
     
  17. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,679
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,679
    315
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    My partner bought a Desire last week, I saw the guy break the seal on th box, they now come shipped with a 4Gb class2. Haveney had a chance to play with it yet.
     
  18. GrenW

    GrenW Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    799
    130
    93
    UK
    Didn't they always? Sure my came with a 4gb, bought an 8 straight away then realised I needed a 16 after rooting :D
     
  19. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,679
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,679
    315
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo

    Mine came shipped with an Samsung 8Gb class 6!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...