1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Add contacts to groups

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Reverence, Sep 21, 2011.

  1. Reverence

    Reverence Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    250
    19
    38
    There doesn't seem to be a way to add contacts to groups through the contact application/list on the phone. Does anyone know how? It seems like a lot of simple features have been overlooked in motoblur/gingerbread.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bigbabys

    bigbabys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    490
    116
    88
    Personal Account Manager
    Largo, FL
    I agree wholeheartedly. As a side note, I recommend editing your google conctacts online. You can add them into groups there, and it carries over to your phone.
     
  3. Reverence

    Reverence Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    250
    19
    38
    Yeah, I know I can manage them online, but it would have been convenient to be able to do it through the phone. My Incredible had the ability.
     
  4. bigbabys

    bigbabys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    490
    116
    88
    Personal Account Manager
    Largo, FL
    Well, like I said, I do agree with you. Just wanted to offer an alternative. And to be honest, if you have access to a computer, it is actually far more convenient to bulk add people into groups using one. The only convenience you will be missing is that new contacts will remain without a group until you get to a computer.

    By now it makes absolutely no sense to me that the default contacts app has filtering options for groups but no way to add people into said groups. It's insane.

    As yet another alternative, if you want to put people into groups. GO Contacts can do this. AFAIK If you use it to put people in groups you can still use the default dialer and they will be in the groups you put them in, but I've never tested that theory.
     
  5. fatpomp

    fatpomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    272
    114
    68
    Male
    Welder/Fabricator
    Los Angeles, Ca
    You can add contacts to groups. Go to the contacts app and look right below the contacts tab there is a button with 2 people on it. Its the one right next to the search button. Push that and you are now in the groups section. You can edit or add groups there.
     
  6. Reverence

    Reverence Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    250
    19
    38
    Yeah, you can edit or add groups, but not add people to groups.
     
  7. richphitzwell

    richphitzwell Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    202
    25
    43
    Create the group then it will send you back to contacts, select the people you want to add to that group and press done
     
  8. richphitzwell

    richphitzwell Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    202
    25
    43
    One thing to note though, if u are using a crm at your work or what have you such as business contact manager or salesforce or whatever you may want to find an app that syncs with your particular program. Additionally there are third party contact apps that may be better for you but i did give you the answer to the specific question just letting you know about more functional apps if you need the additional capabilities
     
  9. Reverence

    Reverence Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    250
    19
    38
    That does work. Unfortunately it only seems to add a group to the phone that will not sync with Google, which is better than nothing I guess. Thanks for the tip though!
     
  10. richphitzwell

    richphitzwell Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    202
    25
    43
    Odd. Sorry not at my computer but ive nkticed this ui sucks and third party apps are far superior. Yay droid for the flexibility but i have already switched to a few third party apps and am now complete if you will. Look on the market there are some great apps
     
  11. SIH

    SIH Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012

    Jun 10, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    The Go people thought that there are only about 20 to 30 contacts that people have and they would like to search contacts from those few by scrolling down and then adding to groups. They conveniently forgot to have a search option.
    I have over 2000 contacts and it is impossible for me to scroll down to contacts to put them in groups or select them. I need a search option.

    I think Go people should have gone through a nokia phone before making their own application.
     
  12. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,892
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,892
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
  13. rollye830

    rollye830 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    to add contacts to a group, go to the "People" app, tap on the index card icon in the bottom (second from left), tap on the group you want to add contacts to, tap "add contact to group" and select contacts you want to add.
     
  14. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #51
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,930
    483
    You must have an HTC Sense phone. The HTC comes with a people app, rather than a contacts app, but the Droid Bionic does not, and the contacts app has the curious inability to edit contact groups (with the exception of the favorites, or starred, group.)

    Thanks for the suggestion, though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...