1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Add frequency bands

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jrccomputer, Jul 23, 2013.

  1. jrccomputer

    jrccomputer Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    May 16, 2013

    May 16, 2013
    146
    13
    38
    Male
    Developer
    Elk River, MN
    Anyway you can add frequency's to the blu life play??? I need it to work for T-Mobile and the frequency's are for at&t. Is there a way to mod the modem!
     

    Advertisement

  2. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    It should work on T-Mobile.

    T-Mobile uses 1900 for 2g, and 1900 in refarmed areas for HSPA.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  3. jrccomputer

    jrccomputer Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    May 16, 2013

    May 16, 2013
    146
    13
    38
    Male
    Developer
    Elk River, MN
    Won't work. I'm wanting to add 1700mhz and 2100mhz. Is it possible???
     
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    It will work, you just might only have EDGE. You'd be surprised how many areas are re-farmed with their HSPA because of LTE though.
    As for adding frequency bands, that would be next to impossible without changing most of the internals of the phone.
     
    jrccomputer and scary alien like this.
  5. jrccomputer

    jrccomputer Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    May 16, 2013

    May 16, 2013
    146
    13
    38
    Male
    Developer
    Elk River, MN
    Anyway to find out if my area has 1900mhz band??
     
  6. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    If there's any T-Mobile coverage in your area, you have the 1900 EDGE band. As for HSPA, if there's LTE there, you have it. If not, you might still have it, but it's next to impossible to tell without trying the device out there. Eventually all of the HSPA will be on the 1900, except some areas will have both 1900 and 1700, so it's only a matter of time.
     
    jrccomputer likes this.
  7. skarface1988

    skarface1988 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012

    Dec 13, 2012
    173
    13
    38
    I'm thinking of getting this phone. but I'm concern of the connection. since I'm in el monte ca. there is 1900 mhz in my area. does that mean I will get 3g or 4g hspa+ ?

    please help!.
     
  8. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    hspa+ is 3g, it's just that t-mobile and at&t have marketed it as 4g in order to sound competitive when Verizon launched it's LTE network. As for your area, it really depends on what they've done there recently. At the very least, you'll have 2g, which is sufficient for making calls, basic texting, and very slow data transfer (100-200 kbps). If they've refarmed your area in preperation for lte, you'll also potentially have HSPA+21. If not, then it will be only 2g. Not a real way to check unfortunately.
     
  9. skarface1988

    skarface1988 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012

    Dec 13, 2012
    173
    13
    38
    thanks for the reply.

    go here:

    https://t-mobile.jive-mobile.com:443/#jive-document?content=/api/core/v2/documents/5736

    help me to understand this.
    so it saying that t-mobile had reallocating from 2g to 4g HSPA+ many in california. there other website I saw it say they had done in my city el monte ca, also....

    so does that mean I will get HSPA+ ?

    even the device offer 4g HSPA up to 40 mbps...
     

Share This Page

Loading...