1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General adding the word "yo" to user dic.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chaM87, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. chaM87

    chaM87 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    65
    1
    16
    So the word "Yo" is added into my user dictionary, but anytime I type "yo" it will be to the left of the word "to" which is the primary option. Why is this...
     

    Advertisement

  2. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Because "yo" is not a real word and it a likely typing mistake for "to" on the keyboard (Y is next to T).
     
  3. 50chendt

    50chendt Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    44
    0
    35
    if you use swype you can type yo twice by actually pressing y and o then you can use the swype feature to type yo and it will work perfectly....most of the time. thats how i add curse words =)
     
  4. chaM87

    chaM87 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    65
    1
    16
    That does not matter, I can make up a word that is not a real word and I can still add it into the dictionary. Yo is the only one that wont work, I have it in the dictionary but like I said when I type it, it is not added and will primarily show the word "to." Primarily means it is highlighted in green and to the left of the word "to" you can see "yo" in grey. It is annoying.

    Ya, I use to use swype. I like it a lot, but did not like having to use it to type in the browser, so I do not use swype anymore. It is not for me but ya it is sweet.

    Any ideas? Anyone else have this problem?
     
  5. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    I believe the more you use a word, then it becomes the first choice.
    However, i seriously doubt you use "yo" more in your vocabulary than "to"... so therefore "yo" will always be the second choice.
     
    Demache likes this.
  6. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    Agreed, I've read that the priority of words in the dictionary are based on the frequency of the word being used. I think they are automatically adjusted as you use Swype. I've noticed when you correct a word from "out" to "it," over time "it" (for example) will become the higher priority. I would assume if you keep using Swype normally, you should find that it automatically adjusts itself to more closely match how you want to use it.
     
  7. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Yeah that's what I meant to say.
     
  8. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    534
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    534
    57
    78
    Fort Worth, Texas
    I kind of miss the way the predictive text worked on the Blackberry 71xx and 81xx devices. It seemed to figure you out after a while.
     
  9. chaM87

    chaM87 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    65
    1
    16
    Alright thanks for the answers, I for sure use "to" more than "yo." I guess that is why, whatever. "Yao" is sweeter than "Yo." :).
     
  10. Syntheticfuture

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    I actually had this problem with yo and I'd. I deleted it from the user dictionary and manually added it. When I did that it became my first choice.
     

Share This Page

Loading...