1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root Adobe Flash Player 10.1 on Ascend

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nuttmeg, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    well after playing with my phone again, i decided to install Flash player and i took a pic of it to show all. and if anyone needs the file i will send to you, or if its ok with the Admin/Mods i will post my megaupload link.

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

    twizzysolo likes this.
  2. lumberjack_ian

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    42
    4
    16
    sandy, or
    and how's it working for ya?
     
  3. la sal

    la sal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #198
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    859
    95
    108
    Male
    Waukesha, WI
    I've read that others have installed it successfully but it won't play.
     
  4. Lennatron

    Lennatron Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    451
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    451
    98
    73
    Male
    College Student
    PA
    I can get it to install fine but no websites or apps detect as being installed.
     
  5. Swagg422

    Swagg422 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    177
    14
    38
    from what i understand and have read it doesnt work on the ascend and most phones with android 2.1. If your using it so you can watch videos in browser you should try Skyfire before it turns into a paid app.
     
  6. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    im running icarus and it seem's there's no problem on my end, but give me a site that require this and i will test it.
     
  7. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,910
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,910
    3,191
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    They are going to start charging for skyfire? I hadn't heard about that.
     
  8. la sal

    la sal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #198
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    859
    95
    108
    Male
    Waukesha, WI
    Starwars.com

    Test it on the Clone Wars videos.
     
    Lennatron likes this.
  9. NorCaL28

    NorCaL28 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    24
    2
    36
    Reno, NV
    @Nutmeg...How did you change your status bar to look like that?? looks cool man
     
  10. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
  11. r0ckstarr

    r0ckstarr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    233
    61
    73
    Tx
    Just looked up Skyfire. Does it revolve around facebook? Reading the description for it, it seems that facebook is all that it is about. I don't do facebook and have no use for facebook. Besides Flash, is there any other advantages to Skyfire?
     
  12. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    no, it doesnt revolve around fb. it has an icon for it built in but thats really all.

    other +'s include beter download management. if stock cant dl/d it skyfire may be able to. runs a little faster too because the info is compressed on their servers before being sent to you. not all grainy like some other browsers either.
     
  13. shutterpoet

    shutterpoet Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    84
    28
    43
    Keeping up with my 11yr old son.
    Tucson, AZ still Wild Wild West
  14. shutterpoet

    shutterpoet Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    84
    28
    43
    Keeping up with my 11yr old son.
    Tucson, AZ still Wild Wild West
    Awesome. Didn't like icarus' color scheme.
     
  15. NorCaL28

    NorCaL28 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    24
    2
    36
    Reno, NV
    Oh man, this does not play well with the 2.2 froyo rom I have installed...It killed all network communications...Thought I bricked it lol...but it was my fault, I read the instructions to fast and it's for Eclair only.
     
  16. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    lol, at least you didn't get the reboot and uim error like i did....

    should have warned you... sorry.
     
  17. NorCaL28

    NorCaL28 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    24
    2
    36
    Reno, NV
    No Problem man, I was like oh #%$^!! lol, so I restored my backup for 2.2 in cwm and it showed the same...no network connection still...I thought I was screwed, I flashed back to my stock 2.1 rom and I got my network back haha....Then I flashed back to my 2.2 rom and the network reconnected...so uhhh....I'll pass on the metamorph for now lol
     
  18. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    they have 2 version, one for eclair and the other one for 2.2 froyo, i think you might have flash the wrong version, 2.2 has a different setup than 2.1.

    Installation for Froyo+ 2.2.1 users:

    Easy way, using a PC:
    1. Download files provided.
    2. open the .zip of your ORIGINAL stock Froyo+ 2.2.1 ROM.
    3. Take framework-res.apk and paste it into the zip.
    4. Overwrite the original file.
    5. Boot into recovery
    6. Select "update from zip on sdcard"
    7. Choose your NEW Froyo+ zip file you added the apk into.
    8. Select update.
    9. Boot into 2.2
    10. Your theme should now be applied.


    HARD way, using your phone:
    1. Open root explorer.
    2. Find the copy of your original Froyo+ zip.
    3. Long press, Extract all.
    4. Place framework-res.apk into the proper folder.
    5. Rezip
    6. Apply through CWM
    7. boot, tada.


    IMPORTANT: 2.2.1 version seems to have a bug where the text will not turn white.

    http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=766774
    .


    Froyo+ 2.2.1 version [ Clockwork MOD ] [CREDIT TO DARKLG]
    Download AscendRED.rar - BitShare.com - Free File Sharing and Storage


    VERSION 2 WILL INCLUDE

    Phone.apk themed

    Settings.apk themed (properly)

    SmartKB Pro/HTC Ime Skin

    Graphical Updates
     
    NorCaL28 likes this.
  19. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yeah - sorry, no.

    Flash is copyrighted, so we frown on download links outside of the Market or similarly-accepted legal paths.

    (Looks like the problem's solved tho. ;))

    IMPORTANT PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT - I'm only skimming these threads, so if this is out of whack, apologies in advance.

    Many of us played Flash tricks before getting our official 2.2/Froyo. Here's the deal - if you're doing Flash tricks and you're not on a real 2.2/Froyo, then ensure you've cleared data and uninstalled this before getting your Froyo update (custom rom or Huawei official) - trust me, if this applies to you, I've just saved you a WHOLE WORLD of pain. ;) :)
     
    Gmash and nuttmeg like this.
  20. Bastich3169

    Bastich3169 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    what exactly do you mean by flash tricks?
     
  21. BlastGT1

    BlastGT1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    732
    335
    123
    Doesn't pay enough
    The Gate
    I'm going to step in here and say that Flash 10.1 WILL NOT WORK ON THE ASCEND. You may download and install it, but the hardware requirements for it are higher than what the Ascend has. I believe it's been stated all over that it requires an ARM7 CPU with as high as 1Ghz speeds, while the Ascend has an ARM6 at a stock 528Mhz.
     
    Lennatron, DMajor239 and Gmash like this.
  22. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,910
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,910
    3,191
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    ^^^^
    Thank you. I am tired of responding to this.
     
  23. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,418
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Trying to force a phone not known to be Flash-capable into running Flash.
     
  24. wisepegasus

    wisepegasus Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011

    May 5, 2011
    6
    2
    6
    I know flash player can work on this phone because I tried IGN Advertisement before upgrading my ROM using the Skyfire browser and it was a no go.

    After downloading "flash_for_21.apk" IGN's site played everything under the sun for me.


    So now I know it's possible to install flash player.
    It's just hit or miss for it to actually work, due to the fact its not a supported phone for Adobe compatibility list.


    Now I'm using Dolphin with Gingerbread and its a no go. (Might try Skyfire again)

     
    Kattie and KOLIO like this.
  25. DMajor239

    DMajor239 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    761
    82
    98
    Male
    Planet Earth
    What about Ascend running 2.2?
     

Share This Page

Loading...