1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Advantages & Disadvantages of rooting DHD ...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by splash104, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,018
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,018
    23,884
    3,118
    Scotland
    It depends on what Android version you have on your handset and whether or not it's branded, HTC made root exceptionally hard on 2.2.1 and above so if you've got 2.2.1 or 2.3.3, you'd need to downgrade first.

    This post gives a rough overview of all the steps. If you're branded, there are additional things you'll need to do before you can downgrade too.
     
    splash104 likes this.
  3. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36
    this is what I got:
    Android version: 2.2
    Baseband version: 12.28e.60.140fU_26.04.02.17_M2
    Software number: 1.83.415.4

    does this help in pointing me to the right direction?
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,018
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,018
    23,884
    3,118
    Scotland
    Yeah, you'd need to create a goldcard before you tried any of the steps I linked to in my initial post.

    The software number indicates an Arabic DHD? Is that correct? does it have any network software on it? When you turn it on, do you initially see a HTC logo or a network one?

    Anyway, in response to your initial question, this link gives a brief overview of what rooting is and what it's advantages are. It's an older article, but the principles remain the same.
     
  5. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36
    yes it's an Arabic enabled DHD. There is no network software on it and I don't see any network logos except the HTC logo when I boot my phone up.

    Since it seems I am unbranded so do I still need to do the goldcard method before continuing any further ?
     
  6. SB13X

    SB13X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    930
    225
    113
    Rail Consultant
    Wigan, UK
    Yes you still need the goldcard unless you have a firmware with x.xx.405.x in it and your CID is HTC 001. You can check your CID by powering off the device holding vol down when you turn on again and going into the bootloader.
     
  7. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36
    thanx for all the replies.

    I think I should stick to the stock OS version for now (2.2 froyo) so that before doing any rooting/jailbreaking/modding my DHD I have full know how of the basics since I'm new at Android family.

    One thing I wanted to know was that I'm getting the system software update option to 2.3 when I hit the 'check for updates' button, so how do I backup my current 2.2 Froyo OS so that IF I tumble across glitches and errors after updating to 2.3 I could just go back through that backup to my original settings and OS?
     
  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,018
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,018
    23,884
    3,118
    Scotland
    TBH, I think that's a pretty good idea.

    Unfortunately, there is no way to fully backup everything without root access and the only way to revert back to an older version would be to get a goldcard and downgrade.
     
  9. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36
    and to get a goldcard I need to root the phone up?

    what do u suggest then? Go with the update or not ?
     
  10. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,018
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,018
    23,884
    3,118
    Scotland
    I'd do it, there are workarounds for the problems it can cause. I didn't experience any problems and the improvements were worth it for any issues it may have caused.
     
  11. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36
    ok then I will go for the update and will be updating this post aswell after the upgrade. Hope all goes well !
     
  12. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36
    UPDATE (to be continued):

    OK. did the update to 2.3.3 Gingerbread and Sense 2.1. The first thing I noticed is that when I try to sign in to htc sense, it asks me to insert a sim card to continue, when in 2.2 froyo, I could sign in without a sim card, why is that?
     
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,018
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,018
    23,884
    3,118
    Scotland
    What do you mean exactly, signing in to HTC Sense? The app on the phone?

    Why isn't the SIM in your phone?
     
  14. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36
    Yes, the htc sense app on the phone requires a sim card in order to sign in. I have also noticed if I hit the 'get more' button on the skins, it too asks for a sim card.

    I have had DHD for just a couple of days so I still have my sim card on my other phone.
     
  15. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,018
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,018
    23,884
    3,118
    Scotland
    Fair enough :)

    There's nothing wrong with the update then, I presume it just needs a SIM for certain things to work whereas it didn't with Froyo.

    The Get more skins function is tied to the sense account, that would be why it's asking for a SIM.

    Have you noticed anything else?
     
  16. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36
    thanx (couldn't get the 'Thanks' button for ur post for some reason!)

    I will be slipping in my sim card to DHD and will update more after that for the changes. Stay tuned !
     
  17. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,018
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,018
    23,884
    3,118
    Scotland
    Smooth, keep me posted.
     
  18. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36
    I hope you won't mind me asking this question irrelevant to the thread but, is there a way to change the Car Navigation App spoken language from Arabic to English?
     
  19. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,018
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,018
    23,884
    3,118
    Scotland
    Not at all, but I was going to respond in your other thread anyway. ;)
     
  20. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36
    what are your personal top 10 android apps? any nice utility tools app for maintaining the overall phone? I have also installed the Free Android Antivirus, looks good what do u reckon?
     
  21. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    I have found (on my rooted DHD) that these are pretty good...

    DroidWall (allows you to grant access to apps to 3G/WIFI)
    Droid Stats (SMS/CALL/DATA widgets)
    Titanium Backup
    ROM Manager
    Lookout Mobile (anti malwear/GPS location of lost phone)
    AutoKiller Memory Optimizer (allows you to tweak memory values with presets, to help lower battery consumption)
    BatteryCalibration
    Barcode Scanner
     
    splash104 likes this.
  22. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,018
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,018
    23,884
    3,118
    Scotland
    If you give it a couple of days, I was going to create a sticky with a list of recommended apps anyway.

    I'm working nights at the moment so I'll be looking to have it ready Thursday/Friday.
     
    splash104 likes this.
  23. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36
    at present I haven't rooted my DHD yet want to get used to it abit more before going for the kill !

    how did you root your DHD? I mean, did it all go smooth? what method did you use ?
     
  24. splash104

    splash104 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    158
    2
    36
    cheers mate appreciate it !
     
  25. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Got my phone from Orange UK and it had all Orange UK branding on it (Orange splash screens when booting up and Orange bloatware apps on it).

    The firmware on the phone was non-rootable and, as such, I had to downgrade to a rootable version. The fact that my handset was branded meant that I had to create a goldcard, so I could do the downgrade.

    Actually creating the goldcard was a bit of a mission (I followed guides to do this EXACTLY as per the web and wasn't able to create one, but it didn't work for me)... I did eventually sort it though. The goldcard tricks your phone in to being able to install unbranded firmware on a branded handset.

    I eventually got the goldcard sorted and then downgraded to a non-branded (stock HTC) version of the firmware, which was rootable (this got rid of the Orange splash screen and the bloatware) - this was straight forward.

    From here I was able to root with visionary (temp, then perm root) - this was straight forward.

    I got Radio S-Off and ENG S-Off (using the easy S-Off tools from XDA) - this was easy... one click tools that do everything for you.

    Radio S-Off tool allows you to simunlock the phone and also change the Carrier ID (CID) orignially an Orange Carrier ID, which is why I had to create a goldcard, to either HTC001 (or something like that), which is the standard HTC CID or to SUPERCID - CID111111 (or something like that).

    ENG S-Off tool allows you to flash radios/other stuff in fastboot (be VERY careful when flashing radios, as if you loose power, you are likely to brick the phone... although this shouldn't be an issue, as you should make sure your phone is FULLY charged if you are going to flash anything.

    I installed ROM Manager from the market - from within ROM Manager, you can flash ClockworkMod Recovery, which then installs ROM's for you - this was straight forward too, as it is just like installing an app from the market.

    Once you've done the above, then it's just down to you on what ROM you want to flash... I went with CyanogenMod 7 as a first ROM and am very happy with it for now.

    Hope this has helped you... if you want any more info or an help, just ask! :D

    EDIT - All of the above will also depend on what version of Android you have... can you tell us and then someone will be able to give you advice for your specific situation?

    EDIT EDIT - Just seen, above, that you are on gingerbread... I downgraded, etc. from Froyo. Although the process will be very similar, I have no experience on downgrading from Gingerbread... I'm sure that someone will be able to advise though!
     

Share This Page

Loading...