1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Advice on gettng Gmail contacts on HERO?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mslisaj, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. mslisaj

    mslisaj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    367
    6
    36
    Mechanic
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    Being I can't sync my Hero with my XP laptop for some reason I would like to get my contacts from Gmail onto my Hero. Any suggestion on how to do this. I have played around with it but haven't figured out the right combination. As always I appreciate the help..........

    Lisa :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,059
    200
    163
    Software Developer
    Kent, UK
    Assuming you connected your hero to the Gmail account in question when you set the phone up, it should automatically sync them onto your phone.

    Are you using the same account, or a different one?
     
  3. mslisaj

    mslisaj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    367
    6
    36
    Mechanic
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    Same phone same account. I would like the email addresses synchronized over. I even went to People, gmail, sync and go through that process to have it fail there saying pass word or log in is wrong. I just can't get it. It asks for domainserver and I put gmail.com. maybe that is the problem.
     
  4. jimeller

    jimeller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009

    Aug 6, 2009
    409
    23
    38
    East Riding

    i know it sounds simple, but have you tried typing googlemail.com instead of gmail.com?
     
  5. mslisaj

    mslisaj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    367
    6
    36
    Mechanic
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    I just tried the "googlemail.com and no joy.
    Should SSL be checked?
     
  6. zaffy

    zaffy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    37
    1
    16
    Retired Computer Tech
    Norfolk, UK
    When you set up your gmail account, did you use the "googlemail" app or the "mail" app
     
  7. mslisaj

    mslisaj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    367
    6
    36
    Mechanic
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    Now that is a good question. I would guess I did the straight Gmail thing. I don't remember the google signup. But that may be what's bogging me down. My android device does go to gmail and get my mail automatically and works fine.
    thanks for the feed back........ Hopefully I'll get it one of these days..........

    Lisa
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...