1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Advisable to order for AT&T's network?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SaosinEngaged, Jul 1, 2011.

1. SaosinEngaged

SaosinEngaged Newbie
    None

Nov 29, 2009
    I just switched over from the iPhone 4. I'm not a newbie to Android, I actually had the first Verizon Android phone (Droid 1) back in the day and switched last year to AT&T because the Android experience for me back then was lacking. I've used an iPhone 4 for a year now and honestly loved it, but I've seen Android definitely picking up steam and becoming a much better operating system in the past year.

I decided to switch back and I picked up the Infuse 4g. It's a really nice phone; I love the size and "4g" speeds, but reading about the Galaxy SII I realize how much better of a phone it is.

Would it be worthwhile to purchase the GSM unlocked SII for use on AT&T's network? 4G will function correctly?

I've never bought an unlocked phone and don't honestly know much about it. Would I be missing out on anything? I.E, would anything be disabled? Would I need the SIM from my Infuse to make it work? I have no problem hanging onto the Infuse and the SII.

Once again, is this a recommended route to take (using an unlocked phone in general).

Thanks!

Advertisement

2. mrvirginia

mrvirginia Android Expert
    None

May 13, 2010
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    short answer: yes

this phone caused me to eat the ETF from Sprint i wanted it so bad heh :)
    network, in my area, is better than Sprint. yes to "4G" speeds. in quotes because no one really has true 4G speeds here in US. i get, on average, about 3mb/s dl

SaosinEngaged likes this.
  3. SaosinEngaged

SaosinEngaged Newbie
    None

Nov 29, 2009
    So I would basically just pop the SIM card out of my phone and put it in the SII?

It would be "that simple?"

I may give my Infuse to my brother who is looking to switch to AT&T and would be getting a SIM anyway.