1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

After 2.1 Update...SLOWER?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by drummer1422, May 27, 2010.

  1. Deleted User

    Deleted User Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    After the 2.1 upgrade my Eris got really slow. Yesterday I rooted it and had to set it up from scratch again and it works great now. For anyone having slowness issues I'd recommend a reset to factory defaults then see how it runs. Also maybe use it for a bit before installing all your apps back onto it incase an app was causing the slowness.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mdsj

    mdsj Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    63
    1
    36
    Corporate Sales
    Southern California
    I had to do a soft reset on mine, then I noticed that it worked great. But than today it started having issues again. So i did a soft reset and works great again. I don't know whats going on.
     
  3. jiimpman23

    jiimpman23 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    it seems alot of people having issues with the 2.1 upgrade ..my phone is kinda slow too..
    what is a softreset?
     
  4. drummer1422

    drummer1422 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    34
    1
    16
    Las Vegas
    Well I was always under the impression that a Soft Reset is when you pull the battery out, Re-Install it and Power up...I had to do 2 Hard Re-Sets in which Sprint set my phone back to the Factory Settings...But just make sure all your contacts are backed up...You will lose any un-saved data though...My suggestion, is have Sprint do the HARD/Factory Re-Set...After my 2nd one, smoother then ever...Good Luck
     
  5. mdsj

    mdsj Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    63
    1
    36
    Corporate Sales
    Southern California
    My phone received the 2.27 software update and now works smooth as ever. Go into settings -> about phone ->software updates-> click HTC software update and thats how I got the new software. Just did it over the weekend.
     
  6. ethandissi

    ethandissi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    guys i know you may not want to hear this... but i use to try and stay standard... but i would definitely suggest rooting your phone and putting on darch's 2.1 it is flawless... you guys will be impressed... although it is aosp style... but there are others with sense integrated that run extremely smooth... at the end of the day though to get a responsive phone you will need to root and get a custom rom... it is not difficult just take it step by step.... you can go to xda-developers and the hero CDMA section... i was totally clueless in the beginning but it was the best decision i made with my phone... well hopefully i have shed light on some alternatives for you guys.


    also android 2.2 froyo is already in the works for the hero... well custom rom style of course... so that is just the cherry on top :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...