1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General After 4.3 Verizon update I can no longer connect to my Windows 8 computer.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by davidmanvell, Dec 21, 2013.

  1. davidmanvell

    davidmanvell Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    677
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012

    Jul 12, 2012
    677
    71
    78
    Male
    Power Quality Specialist for a medical imaging com
    Virginia Beach, VA USA
    Says USB device not recognized. Sometimes if I plug it in and unplug it a few times I can get it to show it as a drive on my Windows 8 system but then it disconnects and goes away. Tried redownloading latest drivers directly from Samsung's website.

    Suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. nytmare

    nytmare Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #303
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    127
    19
    38
    VA
    I hope somebody comes with a good suggestion. I've not been able to get my S3 to connect my new laptop (Windows 8) since I bought it (the laptop that is... I was previously able to connect my S3 to my old laptop (Windows XP) with no problem. Unfortunately, my old laptop's motherboard went south.) I was hoping that upgrading to 4.3 might help, but it did not as I still cannot get a connection. Oddly enough, my laptop does see it via Device Manager. I've tried everything. There's even a fairly large thread dedicated to it somewhere around here. One member really went above and beyond to try and help, but his efforts and suggestions never worked out.
     
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Have you downloaded the servers on your new pc same as the OP?
    Easy way is to install Samsung Kies and that will install the drivers :thumbup:
     
    nytmare likes this.
  4. davidmanvell

    davidmanvell Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    677
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012

    Jul 12, 2012
    677
    71
    78
    Male
    Power Quality Specialist for a medical imaging com
    Virginia Beach, VA USA
    My system has the latest drivers. it did connect fine with 4.1.2 but won't with 4.3. Something changed.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  5. nytmare

    nytmare Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #303
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    127
    19
    38
    VA
    More times than I can count. I have literally tried everything I could find on the net or other members could suggest. Nada. I'm considering digging out my eight year old desktop and see if it'll connect.

    Tried the Kies 3 and it's not connecting. Although, it has more troubleshooting options than the previous versions.

    Thanks though...
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  6. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    No probs man. I have no experience with samsung 4.3 and i think most of the experienced users have moved away from samsung updates but hopefully youll get a fix soon :beer:
     
  7. nytmare

    nytmare Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #303
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    127
    19
    38
    VA
    I appreciate the sentiment, but it was like this before the update. Ever since I purchased this new laptop (a Lenovo Twist... all the bells and whistles) with Win 8, I've not been able to get it to connect. I've wanted to root for a while, but can't since it requires connecting via USB. Wish there was some way of doing it via cloud, wifi, or something.
     
  8. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    There isnt that i know of mate. Maybe the Mobile Odin app could do it?
    EDIT nah MO requires root lol :banghead:
     
  9. Mark16q

    Mark16q Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    85
    9
    16
    CPa
    Conejo Valley, CA
    windows 7 here but similar hassle. update to 4.3, update kies to 3, no connect. uninstall everything, device driver errors. download usb device from samsung and re-install kies 3. finally got a connection with kies to outlook. completely borked my contact list on first sync, with numerous copies of everyone, but finally got it cleaned up. Thank you samsung for this update and wasting 4 hours of my evening. grrrrrrr
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  10. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,894
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,894
    4,147
    708
    Illinois
    Have you tried using the AirDroid app? It will let you 'connect' your phone to any computer using wireless networking. It's pretty basic too, (as long as your phone and computer are connected to the same network), just start up the app, it will show you an IP address+ port. Type that exact IP : port into your computer's browser, and once you click the 'Approval' button on your phone, your browser window will load up with various folders and functions from your phone.
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sand.airdroid&hl=en
     
    nytmare and funkylogik like this.
  11. nytmare

    nytmare Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #303
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    127
    19
    38
    VA
    That's a possibility. Although, in my research, I've not been able to find anyone who's used AirDroid in this manner (there's one other similar app, but I forget the name). And, since I'm not keen on bricking my S3, I'd prefer to not be the first to try it. Having said that, my dumb ass will likely give it a shot and will undoubtedly dork it up. Oh well, maybe I could then use my S3 to keep my kitchen table from wobbling.
     
  12. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,894
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,894
    4,147
    708
    Illinois
    You'd hardly be the first to try it, just looking at the numbers on on Play there's over 132,000 five star ratings for AirDroid and it's been recommended not just here on the Galaxy S3 board previously but on several others. I used it extensively without any problems on an LG Optimus going back a couple of years now too.
    Should be noted that it can also be used to connect your PC to your phone even when both are not on the same network, but in that case you need to register yourself on AirDroid's site and all transfers go through their servers. But in a home situation where everything is on the same network, there's no need to register at all, and it's not even using any Internet access, you're just doing everything over your own wireless network -- the app on your phone being linked to the browser on your computer. (You're in essence using a wireless connection instead of a USB cable, with AirDroid also providing a more functionality than just file transfers.)
     
    nytmare likes this.
  13. nytmare

    nytmare Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #303
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    127
    19
    38
    VA
    I hear ya. I know AirDroid can be used as an alternative to a USB cable, but I've not seen where anyone's used it to root their phone. Considering the bad things that could happen if something goes wrong during the transfer of data, I'd be much more comfortable doing it if I could see that other people had already used it for that purpose (successfully).

    If I can't find some other solution... I'll likely give it a shot though.
     
  14. nytmare

    nytmare Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #303
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    127
    19
    38
    VA
    Since updating to 4.3, I just noticed something on my lockscreen that I've not seen before. There was a scrolling message just above my pattern lock that reads, "unlock your device to use as a media device". I can't find anything on the net about that specific message. What does/could that mean in our efforts to get our Windows 8 PCs to see our phones in Window Explorer? BTW, I don't recall seeing that message prior to updating to 4.3.
     

Share This Page

Loading...