1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root After root will I have to monkey with radios?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ericmtnbkr, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. ericmtnbkr

    ericmtnbkr Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    35
    4
    16
    Railcar Design Engineer
    Portland, OR
    Shocker...I'm new to rooting.

    Anyway, I was thinking of giving it a try but an wondering whether I will have to monkey with radios after rooting to get a good signal.

    So far this is what I've learned:
    1. get to s-off
    2. root phone
    3. install new rom
    4. use phone

    Is that basically it?

    Also on a side note, does anyone know whether I'll have to downgrade my OS if I want to use HTC's new boot unlock? I believe I'm on GB 2.3.4.
     

    Advertisement

  2. valorian

    valorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1,947
    499
    193
    Male
    Northern Illinois
    If you are on 2.3.4 you will need to downgrade to 2.3.3 before you can get s-off. Also, if you use the root method in this forum you do not need HTC's unlock process. I really do not know much about the HTC method.

    After you root, you can load a new radio but you do not need to.
     
    ericmtnbkr likes this.
  3. ericmtnbkr

    ericmtnbkr Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    35
    4
    16
    Railcar Design Engineer
    Portland, OR
    Thanks for the info!

    Any idea whether I can follow the s-off and root process on this website but then re-install GB 2.3.3 using HTC's kernel from their dev website? That would give me a stock OS/UI but I would be able to remove the bloatware right?

    If I can I think I will do that. It sounds like it will be a good first foray into rooting and then if I feel more adventurous I can try some moded ROM's.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. valorian

    valorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1,947
    499
    193
    Male
    Northern Illinois
    ericmtnbkr likes this.
  5. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    933
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis
    The one step I saw missing in the OP was making a NAND backup of your stock setup.
     
    ericmtnbkr likes this.
  6. ericmtnbkr

    ericmtnbkr Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    35
    4
    16
    Railcar Design Engineer
    Portland, OR
    Good to know. Is that something I do after s-off and installing clockwork recovery? Is it a built-in feature of clockwork or will I need a specific app?

    Thanks again :D

    Eric
     
  7. ericmtnbkr

    ericmtnbkr Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    35
    4
    16
    Railcar Design Engineer
    Portland, OR
    I just watched how to root Dinc2 video and it looks like one of the options in Clockworks is backup and restore. Will that make a NAND backup?

    just read a writeup of CWM on adicitivetips.com. Sounds like it will do the backing up for me.
     
  8. valorian

    valorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1,947
    499
    193
    Male
    Northern Illinois
    Yes and Yes

    A NAND backup would be done after you have completed the rooting process and before you load a different ROM. That way if something goes wrong with the ROM install you have a backup to restore. When you boot into recovery you will see an option for backup. Another way to do it is install ROM Manager. You can backup you current ROM that way too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...