1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root After SBFing, shouldn't everything on my phone be erased?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Metroidman, May 23, 2011.

  1. Metroidman

    Metroidman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    81
    4
    16
    Twin Cities, MN
    I SBF'd my phone after rooting it and when I did, my background is the same and all my apps are still there. Is this normal? I thought everything would be erased.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Everything should be erased. Your SBF failed. Try it again.
     
  3. Metroidman

    Metroidman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    81
    4
    16
    Twin Cities, MN
    I've done it twice with RSD Lite 4.9

    I get the same result.
     
  4. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    No, this is wrong.

    Totally wrong.

    The SBF only replaces your /system partition, your kernel and your baseband. It leaves your user data intact, so all of your apps, preferences, etc. are all still there.

    If you want your phone clean, you need to SBF and then do a factory reset.
     
  5. Steven58

    Steven58 Returning AF Family Member
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,943
    Posts:
    33,203
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    33,203
    25,788
    3,943
    Male
    No. After you SBF do a factory data reset. Then you should be good.
     
  6. Metroidman

    Metroidman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    81
    4
    16
    Twin Cities, MN
    But do I need to do a factory reset? I want to keep all my apps but I still want the upgrade from Verizon. Would I still get it?
     
  7. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    No, you don't have to do a factory reset. If your system is working fine, there's no reason to factory reset.
     
  8. Kirbnite

    Kirbnite Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011

    May 15, 2011
    25
    4
    16
    It all depends on the sbf file your flashing, sounds like the system only sbf. There is a full sbf avail.
     
  9. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    When I do a full SBF my phone is wiped. I have to start over like it's a brand new phone. Go through the entire Google setup and activate the phone.
     
  10. Metroidman

    Metroidman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    81
    4
    16
    Twin Cities, MN
    I'm using the full SBF

    I downloaded it again and SBF'd

    Still the same
     
  11. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    The full SBF still does not wipe your user data out.


    I promise you, if you start with stock FroYo, with all of your apps installed, then use the FroYo SBF, your phone will start up the same way it did before you used the SBF.
     
  12. apavolka

    apavolka Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    495
    30
    43
    Plumbing Supply House
    Flagstaff, AZ
    I can argue with that. I had never had to reactivate my phone with a reset but with an sbf I had to do everything and reactivate.
     
  13. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    ^^^Thank You^^^

    I knew I wasn't dreaming.

    Also apologies to Metroidman. We really haven't solved your problem have we?
     
  14. BuTbKa

    BuTbKa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    825
    134
    93
    SoCal
    .sbf restoring radio...
     
  15. Metroidman

    Metroidman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010

    Oct 3, 2010
    81
    4
    16
    Twin Cities, MN

    Well all I know is I rooted my phone with Stock Froyo and I downloaded full SBF files from 3 different places and full SBF'd 3 times. Only thing I had to do was reactivate. All my apps and programs stayed in place.
     
  16. aleis

    aleis Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,051
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    1,051
    33
    118
    I simply want a ginger bread rom thats rooted. I already have gingerbread now...could i SBF to stock, saving my apps then load a rooted gingerbread?
     

Share This Page

Loading...