1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Alarm clock auto snoozing

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by space wrangler, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. space wrangler

    space wrangler Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011

    Jul 4, 2011
    104
    20
    38
    When I have my screen lock on, my Commando's alarm clock will automatically snooze after sounding the alarm for a second or so. This only happens with the screen lock on. Anyone else notice this?

     

    Advertisement

  2. Greg2561

    Greg2561 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    This is happening to me when the phone is in the cradle. I know this is an old post, but have you found a fix for this? What do you mean by screen lock on? Is the solution to disable the screen lock? It locks itself after a set period in the cradle.
     
  3. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    It does it to me too. I've got three alarms, and usually the third alarm will only go off for two seconds. I'm usually awake by then, so no big deal.
     
  4. Greg2561

    Greg2561 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    It happened to me again this morning and I was almost late for work. I have been using my phone alarm for the past 5 or 6 years and never had a problem. The Commando is my first android phone, and while I do like a lot of the features, I am missing my Boulder, and Rock. This phone does strange things, things a regular phone just would not do. A few times I have received a call while on the cradle, I pick it up and the whole screen goes blank and does like a partial reboot. Then I have no record of the call, it does not show up in the call log.

    It seems that most of the problems I am exeriencing are happening when it's in the desk cradle. I may start charging it at night by plugging it in. Sucks to have spent $30 for nothing, but it's now to the point where the phone is unreliable. Maybe I should have gone with the iPhone....:mad:
     
  5. Spike G

    Spike G Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Mine auto snoozed again third morning as well...April fools Easter egg?
     
  6. Greg2561

    Greg2561 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    I have narrowed my problem down to the desk cradle. When I plug my phone into the regular charger the alarm works fine, and works fine when not charging as well. It has something to do with the desk cradle app in my case. I guess I won't be using that anymore. I'll have to find a way to use it in my vehicle for now....
     
  7. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    another desk cradle issue. does anyone else's do this: if i put my phone on the cradle, go to sleep, then someone texts me in the middle of the night, it stops charging.
     
  8. john58ford

    john58ford Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    96
    24
    38
    Electronics Technician/USCG
    Michigan
    mine does not do the text message bit. I do have cradle bugs though. today it did its first ever cradle auto snooze after months of using a cradle. Only thing I did different this time was use the cradle programs soft keys to adjust the volume after it was in the cradle. I usualy set it in the cradle unlocked, wait until the cradle app comes up, and tap the dimmer button. mine only spends about 30 minutes in the cradle before its alarm goes off, more of a "half way there" alarm than a "wake up" my phone is never charging when the wake alarm comes, I don't leave electronics on the charger for the fun of it and mine never takes more than an hour to charge per day.

    Another bug I have, I dont have a key screen lock set on mine as they are only useful for about 12 seconds in a shop of nerds like me and i just dont see it useful. my slide lock is set for 1:30 mins. i unlock my phone before I put it in the cradle and after a 1:30 of course its locked. to unlock it though i cant just tap areas on the screen, I have to tap the search soft key, then I can slide unlock, then back out of Bing (that I never use anyhow) then I can shut off my alarm or answer texts. honestly if vlingo in car could operate my alarm clock function I would just leave that on, it works amazing in the cradle with voice activation.
     
  9. snapx79

    snapx79 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012

    Jan 26, 2012
    6
    0
    25
    "Makin' Painting Applicators" MADE IN THE U.S.A.!
    Wooster, Ohio
    Not sure if it will be helpful but try keeping your screen awake when charging --MENU-SETTINGS-APPLICATIONS-DEVELOPMENT-STAY AWAKE. This will let you keep your screen from locking whenever your phone is charging Dock or Usb.
     
  10. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    Ok, it's not the cradle. I quit using the cradle after my last post here. This morning I snoozed my first alarm, dismissed my second alarm. Then as I'm brushing my teeth the third alarm goes off. Within 2 seconds it stops. Notification comes up in the status bar saying alarm silenced after however many second. Wtf....
     
  11. Spike G

    Spike G Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    i do not own a cradle and mine does this as well, also i'm running m050 so its not anything to do with the updates. its just a bug thats been there and probably always will unless they notice this and fix it with ANOTHER god damn update
     
  12. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    Well if the root for the m100 works, I'll sell you this one running m080 for $100 :)
     
  13. Spike G

    Spike G Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    haha sounds like a good deal, i'm content with m050 for now but i could always use a backup with the stuff i'm poking in. and it would give me an excuse to softbrick and enable fastboot and actually poke around some more. but it looks like this exploit was patched as well
     
  14. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    Ok, tried not using the cradle, still auto snoozes.
    Tried off setting my three alarms: alarm 1 - 6:00 with 5 min snooze
    Alarm 2 - 6:06 w/5 min
    Alarm 3 - 6:13
    I was thinking when the 1st alarm would come back on from being snoozed by me, that it was having conflict and auto snoozing both. But nope, still goes into auto snooze.

    Anyone find any resolve?
     
  15. Captain Ron

    Captain Ron Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    My phone seemed fine for 5 or 6 months then started doing stupid things. Yes the auto snooze is one of them. I am on my 4th phone thanks to Verizons warranty program but they all do the same. I didn't notice so many problems until I started using the dock? Coincidence? The alarm works most of the time when plugged in direct to the power supply. When on dock it auto snoozes or just cancels. Not good. It also locks up if someone calls me when on dock, it can't be answered, sometimes rings constantly until I pull out the batt. It also leaves no history of missed call? I get the force quit screen often too. It rings in my pocket and when I grab it out it has already answered the call? Gets really hot once in a while and the batt dies, nothing seems to be running. I dial a saved contact and another one answers? Even changes the saved number to the contact who answers? I am a simple user. Never got or sent a text, photo or email, EVER. Only ap I installed is Pandora. Like I said, 1st phone seemed okay except for the slight random jam but after 5 months and a dock try they are all doing bad stuff?

    I bought this for the waterproof and shock features. That seems okay but the camera sucks. The screen is touchy getting it too take commands and now it is very undependable. Seems like they did a software upgrade or change and now it sucks. Maybe a way for users who liked it to change up to another phone? They do need to sell phones you know.
     
  16. Greg2561

    Greg2561 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Haven't posted since April 2nd, but just wanted to say that since then I have not been using my desk cradle and the alarm has not once auto-snoozed. Whatever my problem was it was definitley linked to the cradle.
     
  17. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    I quit using the cradle but still found the auto snooze problem. Downloaded alarm clock xtreme, and it doesn't auto snooze.
     
  18. piludo36

    piludo36 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013

    Jun 20, 2013
    55
    4
    36
    Male
    Education
    Earth
    I know this is an old post but I don't have a cradle and I get this problem intermittently throughout the day, and not charging. Any suggestions for fix (non-root) no room for another app.
     

Share This Page

Loading...