1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Alarm Clock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ColinMcF, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. ColinMcF

    ColinMcF Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Glasgow, UK
    Are there any good alarm applications for the X10i?

    Basically I use my phone as an alarm to get up for work. My old Nokia N96 I could set the alarm and then switch the phone off at night and the alarm would still go off on time. This does not seem to be the case with the X10i. It doesn't even go off when the phones in airplane mode which is poor. I just don't want to have to leave my phone on overnight in case it rings and i wake up.

    Are there any good alarm apps that allows you to turn the phone off and the alarm would still ring at 6.30 for work?
     

    Advertisement

  2. JPBrowne

    JPBrowne Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    38
    10
    18
    Ireland
    Nope. The Alarm clock is running as a process on the operating system. If the phone is off it won't turn on.
    If you don't want to be disturbed by the phone rining in the night then you can put it on silent. The alarm clock will still sound in the morning even if the phone is on silent, this is what I do anyway.
    Make sur ethat you don't kill the alarm clock application with the task killer. Also make sure that alarm clock is in the ignore list on the task killer just in case it decides to kill the app because it's inactive or something.
     
  3. cvp

    cvp Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    10
    2
    16
    Try my app "Alarm Clock PlusV2" it will run while your phone is asleep (not off) and wake the phone for the alarm. The alarm volume is independent of the ringer volume too, so you can mute your ringer and still have the alarm go off. Not to mention it has a ton of other features.
     
  4. clockwork58

    clockwork58 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    256
    29
    43
    Toronto
    I've had my phone for about 2 weeks now. (x10a)
    I've been using Alarm Clock Extreme (Free), so I decided to install yours.
    When I launch the app and click on the Music Icon (#3) I get the following error:

    The application Alarm Clock Plus v2 (process com.vp.alarmClockPlusDock) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.

    Any ideas?
     
  5. cvp

    cvp Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    10
    2
    16
    At the main screen hit the menu button on you phone, and go to Main settings.

    Change the music app to a different app (the x10 probably doesnt have the stock android music player) and see if that works for you.
     
  6. TheManWithAPlan

    TheManWithAPlan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    127
    19
    38
    Try kaloer clock.. its cool
     
  7. clockwork58

    clockwork58 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    256
    29
    43
    Toronto
    Under which setting option? manage applications?
    I looked for my music app and can't see anything to use change as default.
     
  8. cvp

    cvp Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    10
    2
    16
    At the main screen, push the menu button on your phone, then go to Main settings... Then click the option that says "Select Music Player app" and choose which app you would like the music button to operate, or choose "(hide button)" to hide it entirely.
     
  9. werthers

    werthers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    262
    15
    58
    Manchester UK
    Get Maths Alarm Clock its awesome you have to solve some maths before it stops going off guaranteed to wake you up!
     
  10. cowdoc

    cowdoc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    @cvp
    I'm interested in trying your alarm program, but I hear that some of these programs get "goofy" if you have the phone plugged in during the night. Will your program run fine if its left plugged in to charge during the night?
    (maybe an odd question, but I read some people having problems...)

    Thanks
     
  11. cvp

    cvp Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    10
    2
    16
    It will run just fine... There's about 100,000 active users using the app and I've had no emails or comments about any problems with the app and leaving the phone plugged in at night.
     
  12. Shonan

    Shonan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    330
    51
    53
    Uk, South West
    dam man, i want waking up in the morning but not that quick :eek::D:D:D
     
  13. tahonen

    tahonen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Finland
    I installed this Alarm Clock V2 yesterday. But I have found some issues, that annoy me a lot. Because I live in ****ing Finland, I'm not able to buy software, 'cause the damn Google ain't getting the market working here, which is a shame for all Android owners.

    Anyway, the issue. Because it is free, it has all these advertisements loading and when alarm is ringing, I cannot hit snooze from side button. I have chosen the option to snooze from sidebutton. But after I have touched the screen and pulled down that taskbar and lifted up, I can snooze from sidebutton and the same time I also see the advertisement loaded under the snooze button.
    Also it is possible after I first hit power button to shut down screen and wake it up again from power button, then I can hit snooze from sidebutton.

    It is a nice application, better than the original one.
    It is good to have this math to "really" wake up, so that you can't just accidently or by meaning, hit the alarm off. I did hit the alarm off by accident a day ago and also red about this new issue with the original alarm after update, so there was two reasons to find out a new software.

    I'm using X10.
     
  14. ~illiterate~

    ~illiterate~ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I was wondering if anyone knows how to change the alarm clock alert to my own mp3 without downloading an app? The alarm clock that comes standard on the phone is fine with me and i was hoping to be able to do this without downloading a special new app. I have the "ringtone" app which allows you to use your own mp3's for anything else, but can't figure out how do get mp3's to the alarm clock. can someone help me please?
     
  15. tahonen

    tahonen Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Finland
    I think it can be done by making a ringtone with for example Ringdroid and using that then. It appears to the list of sounds. At least it should appear, I had them there. I don't use the original alarm, the Alarm Clock V2 is way better :)
     
  16. joemonkey

    joemonkey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    385
    12
    38
    Seattle, WA
    i use gentle alarm and it's great.
     
  17. lelynch

    lelynch Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011

    Jan 2, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Greenville, TX
    Add the mp3 file to a folder on your SD card called "Alarms". These will then show up as a choice when you go to choose the alarm sound. If you dont' already have the "Alarms" folder, just create it first.

    Also, if you want to add additional sounds for notifications or ringtones, the same thing applies. Create if necessary and add the sounds to folders called "Notifications" or "Ringtones". These will then show up as new choices.

    Hope this helps!
     

Share This Page

Loading...